达尔文的进化论

达尔文的进化论

 - 一个危机中的理论
当前位置: 科学 >> 达尔文的进化论

达尔文的进化论 — 前提
达尔文的进化论是人们普遍持有的观念,认为一切生命相互关联,来自一个共同的祖先:鸟类和香蕉,鱼类和花卉 — 都彼此相关。达尔文的一般理论假设生命由非生命发展而来,并强调一个纯粹自然的(无向的)“有修正的遗传”。也就是说,复杂些的生物是从更简单的祖先随着时间的推移自然演变而来。简言之,当随机基因突变发生在一个生物体的遗传密码内部时,有益的突变被保留下来,因为它们帮助生存 — 一个称之为“自然选择”的过程。这些有益的突变传递给下一代。随着时间的推移,有益的突变不断累积,结果形成了完全不同的生物体(不只是原来的变种,而是一个完全不同的生物)。

达尔文的进化论 — 自然选择
虽然达尔文的进化论相对较新,但进化的世界观却像历史一样古老。古希腊哲学家阿那克西曼德假设,生命是从非生命发展而来,人类是从动物进化而来。查尔斯•达尔文只是往旧的哲学中注入了一些新的东西 — 一个称为“自然选择”的东西。自然选择是为了保护和积累少数有利的基因突变。 假设某物种的成员发展了一种有益的功能(长出翅膀而且学习飞行)。其后代继承这一优势,并代代相传。同一物种的劣势(不利)群体的成员将逐渐消失,只留下该物种的高级(有利)的成员。自然选择是一个功能优势的保护,使一个物种在野外有更强的竞争力。自然选择相当于家庭饲养。几个世纪以来,人类饲养者只需通过个体选择饲养就使得家禽畜的数量发生了巨变。饲养者逐渐淘汰了不利的特征。同样地,自然选择随着时间淘汰了劣势物种。

达尔文的进化论 — 缓慢但肯定
达尔文的进化论是一个缓慢渐进的过程。 达尔文写道:“...自然选择,只能利用微小的连续的变化,她永远不能有一个突然的大的飞跃,但一定有小的,稳步的进化,尽管步履缓慢。” [1]因此,达尔文承认,“要是能够证明任何复杂的器官确实存在,它们是不可能通过众多、连续、微小的修正而形成的,我的理论就绝对会被打破。” [2] 这样一个复杂的器官将被视为“不可简化的复杂系统”的美誉。 一个不可简化的复杂的系统由多个部分组成,所有各部分都是系统运作的必要成分。 如果一个部分丢失,整个系统将瘫痪。每一个部分都是不可或缺的。 [3] 因此,这种系统不可能缓慢地,一部分接一部分地演变。 常见的捕鼠器是一个日常的非生物的复杂结构的例子。 它由五个基本部分组成:一个鼠夹(夹着诱饵),一个弹力好的弹簧,一根称为“铁锤”的小棍,一根固定小锤的支架,和一块放置捕鼠器的板子。 如果任何一个组成部分缺失,这个装置将无法工作。每个单独部分都是不可或缺的。捕鼠器就是不可简化的复杂装置。 [4]

达尔文的进化论 — 一个危机中的理论
由于过去五十年我们在分子生物学,生物化学和遗传学方面所取得的巨大进步,达尔文的进化论身处危机之中。我们现在知道,在细胞结构层面,有成千上万个不可简化的复杂系统。特定的复杂性贯穿于整个微生物世界。分子生物学家迈克尔•丹顿说:“虽然微小的细菌细胞非常之小,重量不到10-12克,但实际上每个细胞都是一个名副其实的微型工厂,其中包含数以千计的精密设计的复杂的分子结构,总共由1千亿个原子组成,它远比人造的任何机器复杂的多,而且在非生物世界绝对没有与之相似的东西。” [5]

我们不需要用显微镜来观察无法简化的复杂性。 眼睛,耳朵和心脏都是这种复杂性的例子,虽然在达尔文时代他们未被认可。 不过,达尔文承认:“根据远近不同来调整焦距,调节光量,校正球面和色彩的偏差,假设眼睛这一独特的结构可能是自然选择形成的,坦率地讲,似乎是荒谬之极的。” [6]

探索更多!

脚注:

  1. 查尔斯•达尔文。物竞天择 适者生存之物种起源,1859年,第162页。
  2. 同上。 第158页。
  3. 迈克尔•贝希。达尔文的黑匣子,1996年。
  4. 纪录片:解开生命的奥秘,伊拉斯特亚传媒, 2002年
  5. 迈克尔•丹顿。进化:危机中的理论,1986年,第250页。
  6. 查尔斯•达尔文。物竞天择 适者生存之物种起源,1859年,第155页。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

进化论和创造论
查尔斯•达尔文
DNA复制
进化论
查尔斯•达尔文
创造的证据
进化的证据
辟尔唐人
进化论
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 达尔文的进化论 to My Google!
Add 达尔文的进化论 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 达尔文的进化论
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Darwin's Theory Of Evolution

allaboutscience

Darwin's Theory of Evolution - The Premise
Darwin's Theory of Evolution is the widely held notion that all life is related and has descended from a common ancestor: the birds and the bananas, the fishes and the flowers -- all related. Darwin's general theory presumes the development of life from non-life and stresses a purely naturalistic (undirected) "descent with modification". That is, complex creatures evolve from more simplistic ancestors naturally over time. In a nutshell, as random genetic mutations occur within an organism's genetic code, the beneficial mutations are preserved because they aid survival -- a process known as "natural selection." These beneficial mutations are passed on to the next generation. Over time, beneficial mutations accumulate and the result is an entirely different organism (not just a variation of the original, but an entirely different creature).

Darwin's Theory of Evolution - Natural Selection
While Darwin's Theory of Evolution is a relatively young archetype, the evolutionary worldview itself is as old as antiquity. Ancient Greek philosophers such as Anaximander postulated the development of life from non-life and the evolutionary descent of man from animal. Charles Darwin simply brought something new to the old philosophy -- a plausible mechanism called "natural selection." Natural selection acts to preserve and accumulate minor advantageous genetic mutations. Suppose a member of a species developed a functional advantage (it grew wings and learned to fly). Its offspring would inherit that advantage and pass it on to their offspring. The inferior (disadvantaged) members of the same species would gradually die out, leaving only the superior (advantaged) members of the species. Natural selection is the preservation of a functional advantage that enables a species to compete better in the wild. Natural selection is the naturalistic equivalent to domestic breeding. Over the centuries, human breeders have produced dramatic changes in domestic animal populations by selecting individuals to breed. Breeders eliminate undesirable traits gradually over time. Similarly, natural selection eliminates inferior species gradually over time.

Darwin's Theory of Evolution - Slowly But Surely...
Darwin's Theory of Evolution is a slow gradual process. Darwin wrote, "…Natural selection acts only by taking advantage of slight successive variations; she can never take a great and sudden leap, but must advance by short and sure, though slow steps." [1] Thus, Darwin conceded that, "If it could be demonstrated that any complex organ existed, which could not possibly have been formed by numerous, successive, slight modifications, my theory would absolutely break down." [2] Such a complex organ would be known as an "irreducibly complex system". An irreducibly complex system is one composed of multiple parts, all of which are necessary for the system to function. If even one part is missing, the entire system will fail to function. Every individual part is integral. [3] Thus, such a system could not have evolved slowly, piece by piece. The common mousetrap is an everyday non-biological example of irreducible complexity. It is composed of five basic parts: a catch (to hold the bait), a powerful spring, a thin rod called "the hammer," a holding bar to secure the hammer in place, and a platform to mount the trap. If any one of these parts is missing, the mechanism will not work. Each individual part is integral. The mousetrap is irreducibly complex. [4]

Darwin's Theory of Evolution - A Theory In Crisis
Darwin's Theory of Evolution is a theory in crisis in light of the tremendous advances we've made in molecular biology, biochemistry and genetics over the past fifty years. We now know that there are in fact tens of thousands of irreducibly complex systems on the cellular level. Specified complexity pervades the microscopic biological world. Molecular biologist Michael Denton wrote, "Although the tiniest bacterial cells are incredibly small, weighing less than 10-12 grams, each is in effect a veritable micro-miniaturized factory containing thousands of exquisitely designed pieces of intricate molecular machinery, made up altogether of one hundred thousand million atoms, far more complicated than any machinery built by man and absolutely without parallel in the non-living world." [5]

And we don't need a microscope to observe irreducible complexity. The eye, the ear and the heart are all examples of irreducible complexity, though they were not recognized as such in Darwin's day. Nevertheless, Darwin confessed, "To suppose that the eye with all its inimitable contrivances for adjusting the focus to different distances, for admitting different amounts of light, and for the correction of spherical and chromatic aberration, could have been formed by natural selection, seems, I freely confess, absurd in the highest degree." [6]

Explore More Now!

Footnotes:

  1. Charles Darwin, "On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection, or the Preservation of Favoured Races in the Struggle for Life," 1859, p. 162.
  2. Ibid. p. 158.
  3. Michael Behe, "Darwin's Black Box," 1996.
  4. "Unlocking the Mystery of Life," documentary by Illustra Media, 2002.
  5. Michael Denton, "Evolution: A Theory in Crisis," 1986, p. 250.
  6. Charles Darwin, "On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection, or the Preservation of Favoured Races in the Struggle for Life," 1859, p. 155.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?