查尔斯•达尔文

查尔斯•达尔文

 - 起源理论
当前位置: 科学 >> 查尔斯•达尔文

查尔斯•达尔文 — 直系亲属
查尔斯•达尔文 (1809 – 1882)出生在英格兰的舒斯伯里,在罗伯特•达尔文(1766-1848)和苏珊娜•维奇伍德(1765-1817)的六个孩子中排行第五。查尔斯8岁的时候母亲去世。他的祖父和外祖父是当时两位赫赫有名的人物:伊拉斯谟斯•达尔文(1731-1802)和乔赛亚•韦奇伍德(1730-1795)。伊拉斯谟斯致力于进化论,虽然他在查尔斯出生前几年就已去世。伊拉斯谟斯在查尔斯•达尔文之前的进化论著作包括《动物学》或《有机生命法则》(1794-1796,上下册)。我们来看看他遗作中的一首诗《自然神殿》(1802),“无边浪涛下有机生命诞生,在海洋珍珠般的洞穴中被抚育;无法在显微镜下看到的初起,在泥中涌动,穿破水雾;这些,是后世的萌发,汲取新的力量,更大的肢体长出;在那里,无数的植物蓬勃生长,呼吸在鱼鳍,四肢和羽翼的国度。”

查尔斯•达尔文 — 教育
查尔斯•达尔文于1822年进入舒兹伯利寄宿学校。 三年后,16岁时他被父亲要求与哥哥伊拉斯谟斯一道进入爱丁堡大学学习医学。 由于惧怕19世纪初期的外科手术,达尔文1827年离开爱丁堡,进入剑桥大学基督学院学习,准备成为英国圣公会牧师并于1831年取得神学学士学位。 在剑桥大学求学期间,他结识了植物学家兼矿物学家约翰•史蒂文斯•亨斯洛(1796-1861),他是当时查尔斯的教授之一。 正是亨斯洛把达尔文推荐给了贝格尔号的罗伯特•菲茨罗伊(1805-1865),菲茨罗伊船长当时很需要一位博物学家。 1831年8月,达尔文收到邀请,在贝格尔号上担任博物学家。 达尔文接受并开始了一段具有重大意义的五年的旅行(1831-1836)。

查尔斯•达尔文 — 贝格尔号的航行
正是查尔斯•达尔文在贝格尔号上的研究奠定了其经典之作的基础 ,《论自然选择下的物种起源》,或《物竞天择 适者生存》在1859年出版。 他一路颠簸来到南美洲的沿岸地区,具信在那里他感染了南美锥虫病。 达尔文一生受肠道疾病和慢性疲劳的困扰,直到1882年去世。 启航前,亨斯洛曾建议他带上查尔斯•莱尔爵士(1797-1875) 的《地质学原理》(1830-1833,3卷),他建议达尔文:“通过一切手段看事实,但决不相信野理论。” [1]达尔文带着《地质学原理》第一卷开始了他的环球航行,并在航行中让人把书的第二卷邮寄给他。 莱尔的书对达尔文的思想产生了两个影响。 首先,它破坏了圣经创世纪的描述(莱尔的著作直接反对圣经)。 第二,它给达尔文必要的时间来适应所有的生命是逐渐演变的想法。 于是,原本是英国教会牧师的达尔文,最终却成为其最有影响力的对手。 莱尔的《地质学原理》以其地质的时间量程,成为达尔文的转折点。

查尔斯•达尔文 — 《物种起源和自然选择》
达尔文1836年回到英国并于1839年当选为英国皇家学会会员,当选5天后,他娶了自己的表妹爱玛•韦奇伍德,后者为他生育了10个孩子。 1842年,达尔文开始草拟《物种起源》。他的作品深受莱尔《地质学原理》和托马斯•马尔萨斯的《人口原理》(1798)的影响。《物种起源》最终于1859年出版。

达尔文并没有发明进化论的世界观。 他只是往旧的观点中注入了一些新的东西:一个看似是真的被称为“自然选择”的东西。 在《物种起源》中,达尔文提出的自然选择是一个进程,通过它所有生命都可能来源于一个共同的祖先(达尔文把进化定义为“血统的修正”)。然而,今天我们知道即使从基因突变的观点来看,自然选择也是一个有缺陷的机制。事实上,随着我们过去50年在分子生物学,生物化学和遗传学等领域的巨大进步,达尔文的理论已经成为“危机中的理论”。[2]

挖掘更多!

脚注:

  1. 理查德•米尔纳,《进化论百科》,第286页 。
  2. 迈克尔•丹顿, 《演化:危机中的理论》,1986年,第250页。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

进化论和化石记录
共生现象
科学方法
化石记录
进化论
进化的证据
达尔文日
自然发生说
共选
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 查尔斯•达尔文 to My Google!
Add 查尔斯•达尔文 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 查尔斯•达尔文
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Charles Darwin

Charles Darwin

 - Origin Theory
You are here: Science >> Charles Darwin

Charles Darwin - Immediate Family
Charles Darwin (1809-1882) was born in Shrewsbury, England. He was the fifth of six children born to Robert Darwin (1766-1848) and Susannah Wedgwood-darwin (1765-1817). Susannah died when Charles was only eight years old. Charles was the grandson of two very prominent men of the time, Erasmus Darwin (1731-1802) and Josiah Wedgwood (1730-1795). Erasmus, who died several years before Charles was even born, was a dedicated evolutionist. Erasmus' pre-charles Darwin evolutionary writings include Zoonomia, or, the Laws of Organic Life (1794-1796, a two volume work). Consider this excerpt from his posthumous poem Temple of Nature (1802), "Organic life beneath the shoreless waves was born and nurs'd in ocean's pearly caves; First forms minute, unseen by spheric glass, move on the mud, or pierce the watery mass; these, as successive generations bloom, new powers acquire and larger limbs assume; whence countless groups of vegetation spring, and breathing realms of fin and feet and wing."

Charles Darwin - Education
Charles Darwin entered Shrewsbury School as a boarding student in 1822. He left three years later, at the age of 16, called by his father to study medicine with his elder brother, Erasmus, at Edinburgh University. Repelled by the horror of early 19th century surgery, Darwin dropped out of Edinburgh in 1827 and enrolled in Christ College, Cambridge University, studying to be a clergyman in the Church of England. Charles earned his Bachelor's Degree in Theology in 1831. During his tenure as a student at Cambridge, Darwin befriended botanist and mineralogist John Stevens Henslow (1796-1861), one of his professors. It was Henslow who recommended Darwin to Captain Robert FitzRoy (1805-1865) of the HMS Beagle, who was in need of a naturalist. In August of 1831, Darwin received an invitation to serve as naturalist aboard the Beagle. Darwin accepted and set sail on a fateful five year voyage (1831-36).

Charles Darwin - Voyage Aboard the HMS Beagle
It was the research Charles Darwin did while aboard the HMS Beagle that formed the basis for his classic work, On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection, or the Preservation of Favoured Races in the Struggle for Life (Origin of Species), published in 1859. His voyage took him to the Coasts of South America, where it is thought he contracted Chagas' Disease. Darwin was inflicted with intestinal illness and chronic fatigue until his death in 1882. Before Darwin set sail, Henslow recommended that he take Sir Charles Lyell's (1797-1875) Principles of Geology, Being an Attempt to Explain the Former Changes of the Earth's Surface, by Reference to Causes Now in Operation (1830-1833, a three volume work). Henslow advised Darwin, "By all means read it for the facts, but on no account believe the wild theories." [1] Darwin took the first volume of Principles of Geology with him on his voyage and he had the second mailed to him while he was at sea. Lyell's book did two things in Darwin's mind. First, it undermined the Bible's Genesis account (Lyell's work was diametrically opposed to the Biblical account). Second, it gave Darwin the time scale necessary to accommodate the idea that all life had evolved gradually. And so, Darwin, who began as a minister in the Church of England, ended up one of its most influential opponents. Lyell's Principles of Geology, with its geologic timescale, was his turning point.

Charles Darwin - Origin of Species and Natural Selection
Charles Darwin returned to England in 1836. In 1839, he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society and, five days later, married to his cousin Emma Wedgwood, who bore him 10 children. In 1842, Darwin began drafting his Origin of Species. Darwin's work was heavily influenced by Lyell's Principles of Geology and Thomas Malthus' An Essay on the Principle of Population (1798). Origin of Species was ultimately published in 1859.

Darwin didn't invent the evolutionary worldview. He simply brought something new to the old philosophy: a plausible mechanism called "natural selection." In his Origin of Species, Darwin proposed natural selection as the mechanism by which all life could have descended from a common ancestor (Darwin defined evolution as "descent with modification"). However, today we know that natural selection is a deficient mechanism, even in light of genetic mutation. In fact, with the tremendous advances we've made in molecular biology, biochemistry and genetics over the past fifty years, Darwin's theory has become "a theory in crisis." [2]

Dig More Now!

Footnotes:

  1. Richard Milner, The Encyclopedia of Evolution, p.286.
  2. Michael Denton, Evolution: A Theory in Crisis, 1986, p. 250.



Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others using the social media buttons below. What is this?

Share Us:





Follow Us:





Dutch   Spanish   Chinese   Portuguese  
Social Media
Follow Us:

Share Us:


View Short Video Clip on
Charles Darwin

Charles Darwin Video

View Short Video Clip!

Darwin Video

Scientific Wordviews

Charles Darwin
Impact of Charles Darwin
Darwin Video
Evolution Of Man
Evidence For Evolution
Darwin's Theory Of Evolution
Charles Darwin Video
Charles Darwin
Origin Of Species
Additional Content To Explore...

Philosophical Worldviews
Truth Claims
Theism
Founders of Belief Systems
Belief Systems
Discover Truth
Popular Issues
Life Challenges
Recovery
 
 
 
Search
 
Podcast Feed: Charles Darwin
Play Audio - Charles Darwin
Add Charles Darwin to My Google!
Add Charles Darwin to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: Charles Darwin

What do you think? Should intelligent design be taught in public schools?
I'm not a Christian and I say no   I'm not a Christian and I say yes   I'm a Christian and I say no   I'm a Christian and I say yes  
Science Home | About Us | Support Us | FAQ | Sitemap
Copyright © 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, All Rights Reserved.