物种起源

物种起源

 - 理论与实际
当前位置: 科学 >> 物种起源

物种起源 — 达尔文的经典之作
《物种起源》是查尔斯•达尔文的经典之作的缩写,它比此书的全称更出名,其完整的书名是《物竞天择 适者生存之物种起源》。英国博物学家查尔斯•达尔文(1809-1882)于1842年开始撰写《物种起源》,那是在他乘坐比格尔号进行了为期5年(1831- 1836)的重要航行后返回英国之后的第6年。这本书最终于1859年出版,它深受查尔斯•莱尔爵士的《地质学原理》(1830 - 1833,3卷 ) 和托马斯•马尔萨斯的《人口原理》(1798)的影响。

物种起源 — 自然选择
在《物种起源》中 ,查尔斯•达尔文提出了自然选择的概念。 自然选择是一个保护和积累生物系统内部少数有利变化的自然过程。 假设某物种中的成员要获得一种功能优势(一个爬行动物长出翅膀学习飞行:一个它地球上的亲属无法享有的明显优势);其后代会继承这一优势,并传递给后代。 自然选择将采取行动来维护这种有利的特征。 从本质上讲,自然选择等同于家禽畜饲养。 几个世纪以来,人类饲养者只需通过个体选择饲养就使得家禽畜的数量发生了巨变。 他们已经能够突出那些理想的特性(已知该特征存在于动物的遗传密码中),甚至随着时间的推移逐渐抑制那些不受欢迎的特性。 家庭养殖和自然选择的不同之处在于:不像人类饲养者那样做出选择,自然本身就是选择者。

达尔文观察敏锐,得出的结论却差强人意。 他认为,既然自然选择能够而且确实产生了动物各种群内的细微变化,因此这就能够解释我们所观察到的生物学的多样性。 他总结说,既然自然选择解释了多样性,所有生命一定以某种方式相关联,最终一切都是由某种共同的祖先演变而来。 “这的确是奇异的事情,—只因为看惯了就把它的奇异性忽视了— 即所有时间和空间内的一切动物和植物,都可分为各群,而彼此关联…”[1]达尔文主义者甚至暗示,这一共同的祖先是某种非生命物质进化而来(他们把其假想成脏兮兮的像汤一样的成分)。 而这整个的想法:鸟类和香蕉,鱼和花卉,所有活物都有关联,以及生命来源于非生命…在遥远的19世纪似乎是真理。 当时,现代生物学仍处于初期阶段,活体细胞被认为只不过是一滴原生质。 格雷戈尔•门德尔(1822-1884)才刚刚开始探索遗传的原则,直到19世纪50年代年后期,路易斯•巴斯德(1822-1895)才试图反驳自然发生说的谬论。 但是,多亏了这些科学伟人所奠定的基础(两人都反对达尔文的进化论),加上我们在分子生物学,生物化学和遗传学领域所取得的进步,特别在近50年,达尔文学说的缺陷清晰地显现出来。 例如,我们已确定遗传障碍的存在。 猪永远都不会飞! 是的,存在不同程度的变异。 不同的肤色,表情,眼睛颜色,头发类型等等。你可以有一条大狗或一条小狗,一条长着长毛或短毛的狗。 但是,没有一种狗能生出来不是狗的东西! 鸟类和香蕉不是远亲! 至于生命起源于非生命(自然发生说),那些机械的解释众所周知,但底线是:某些化学物质的限制使得自然发生完全不可能。

物种起源 — 亨斯洛的忠告
如果你坐下来阅读达尔文的《物种起源》,要记住约翰•史蒂文斯•亨斯洛(1796 - 1861)给年轻的查尔斯•达尔文的忠告。 亨斯洛是达尔文在剑桥大学的一位教授。 事实上,正是亨斯洛把达尔文推荐给贝格尔号的罗伯特•菲茨罗伊船长(1805 - 1865)。 启航前,亨斯洛建议他携带查尔斯•莱尔爵士的《地质学原理》。 莱尔的书对年轻的查尔斯产生了深远的影响,这种影响贯穿了整个达尔文的工作。 亨斯洛建议达尔文:“务必读它的事实,而决不相信盲目的理论。” [2]我们力求把本忠告传递给您。 一定要读事实,但决不相信盲目的理论。

阅读更多!

脚注 :

  1. 查尔斯•达尔文, 《物竞天择 适者生存之物种起源》,1859年出版,第109页。
  2. 理查德•米尔纳,《进化论百科》,第286页。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

DNA复制
RNA世界
性的进化
科学方法
进化
人类进化
寒武纪大爆发
暗能量
辟尔唐人
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 物种起源 to My Google!
Add 物种起源 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 物种起源
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Origin Of Species

allaboutscience

Origin of Species - Darwin's Classic Work
Origin of Species is the abbreviated, more commonly-known title for Charles Darwin's classic, On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection, or the Preservation of Favoured Races in the Struggle for Life. British naturalist Charles Darwin (1809-1882) began drafting Origin of Species in 1842, just six years after returning from his fateful five-year voyage aboard the HMS Beagle (1831-36). Heavily influenced by Sir Charles Lyell's Principles of Geology (1830-1833, a three volume work) and Thomas Malthus' An Essay on the Principle of Population (1798), Origin of Species was ultimately published in 1859.

Origin of Species - Natural Selection
In Origin of Species, Charles Darwin introduced the concept of natural selection. Natural selection is a natural process which acts to preserve and accumulate minor advantageous variations within living systems. Suppose a member of a species were to develop a functional advantage (a reptile grew wings and learned to fly: an obvious advantage his earth-bound relatives couldn't enjoy); its offspring would inherit that advantage and pass it on to future offspring. Natural selection would act to preserve the advantageous trait. Essentially, natural selection is the naturalistic equivalent to domestic breeding. Over the centuries, human breeders have produced dramatic changes within domestic animal populations simply by selecting individuals to breed. They have been able to accentuate desirable traits (given the trait is already present in the creature's genetic code) and even suppress undesirable traits gradually over time. The difference between domestic breeding and natural selection is this: rather than human breeders making the selections, nature itself is the selector.

Darwin made a keen observation but he drew a poor conclusion. He thought that since natural selection can and does produce slight variations within animal populations it should therefore be able to explain all of the variety we observe in biology. He concluded that since natural selection explains variety, all life must somehow be related, everything ultimately having evolved from some sort of common ancestor. "It is a truly wonderful fact-the wonder of which we are apt to overlook from familiarity-that all animals and all plants throughout all time and space should be related to each other…" [1] Darwinists have even gone so far as to suggest that this common ancestor somehow evolved from non-living matter (which they presume to be some kind of dirty-water soup-like composition). Well, this whole idea of the birds and bananas, the fish and the flowers, all being related, and life evolving from non-life… may have seemed remotely plausible back in the 1800s. Modern biology was still in its infancy and the living cell was still thought to be nothing more than a simple blob of protoplasm. Gregor Mendell (1822-1884) had only just begun exploring the principles of heredity and it wasn't until the late 1850's that Luis Pasteur (1822-1895) sought to disprove the abiogenesis fallacy. But thanks to the foundations laid by these great men of science (both of whom opposed Darwinian evolution) and in light of the tremendous advances we've made in molecular biology, biochemistry and genetics, especially over these past fifty years, the flaws in Darwin's theory standout quite clearly. For example, we've established that genetic barriers exist. Pigs will never fly! Yes, there are degrees of variation. Different skin tones, facial features, eyes colors, hair types, etc. You could have a big dog or a small dog, a dog with long or short hair. But no kind of dog will ever produce a non-dog! Birds and bananas aren't distant cousins! As far as life arising from non-life (abiogenesis), the mechanisms are fairly well known and the bottom line is this: certain chemical constraints make abiogenesis an impossible event.

Origin of Species - Henslow's Advice
If ever you find yourself sitting down to read Darwin's Origin of Species, keep in mind John Stevens Henslow's (1796-1861) advice to the young Charles Darwin. Henslow was one of Darwin's professors at Cambridge. In fact, it was Henslow who recommended Darwin to Captain Robert FitzRoy (1805-1865) of the HMS Beagle. Before Darwin set sail, Henslow recommended that he take Sir Charles Lyell's Principles of Geology. Lyell's book had a profound impact upon the young Charles and its influence is seen throughout Darwin's work. Henslow advised Darwin, "By all means read it for the facts, but on no account believe the wild theories." [2] We seek to pass this advice on to you. By all means read it for the facts, but on no account believe the wild theories.

Read More Now!

Footnotes:

  1. Charles Darwin, On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection, or the Preservation of Favoured Races in the Struggle for Life, 1859, p. 109.
  2. Richard Milner, The Encyclopedia of Evolution, p.286.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?