进化

进化

 - 为什么科学家相信进化论
当前位置: 科学 >> 进化 2
(首先阅读第一部分 进化)

进化 — 科学家信仰的程度
为数众多的科学家和其他人都相信进化论。 有些人是这一学说忠诚的捍卫者。 这是合乎逻辑的— 因为如果一个人真的相信一个观点,他很可能会传播它。

有些人很高兴响应,很多人只是附和,因为似乎就该这样做。 大多数科学家并非相关领域的专家,例如微生物学,遗传学,没有专家,像其他人一样,他们只是对这个问题有一个看法。 这些科学家中的许多人对于生物进化产生了严重的质疑,但他们只对自己持保留意见。 当然,许多人 — 包括科学家— 坦诚对此问题的困惑。 不是因为证据,而是由于推定的证据 — 这一点解释了进化论流行的主要原因。

进化 — 一个时髦的错误想法
小威廉•伦道夫•赫斯特,曾经写道,压力来自于“时髦的想法...,它被如此的力量推动以至于常识本身成为了受害者。” 一个在这样重压之下的人会采取行动,他说,“以一种几乎令人难以置信的非理性的方式”1在异常强大的压力下接受进化论就是如此。 这种施压不仅来自科研机构,还来自媒体和政界的同情者,并不是出于科学的原因,对大众产生了巨大的影响。 珍妮特•布朗写下了这一切是如何开始的:“第一波积极的响应归功于达尔文的朋友。 因为很明显,达尔文的理论对他们有用就像他们对达尔文的理论有用一样。 在随后的几十年,达尔文的捍卫者逐渐占领英国和美国知识界。 同时,这些人也在那段时间控制了科学传媒,尤其是重要期刊....达尔文的对手却没能掌控媒体也没能渗透到重要机构。“2

多年来,进化‘神话’的力量通过人们随大流的心理已经赢得了公众,几乎等于对大众进行了集体催眠。 它之所以产生这样的效果是因为人们被误导,认为这是那些被他们认为是科学界见多识广的人的“正统”观点。

因而,一个受此影响的科学家不愿意以开放的态度来审查证据。 这不是科学的态度 — 而是带着感情色彩。 人们可以很容易盲从于一个看似时髦的理念,这个理念在他的同龄人中很“流行”。 决定性的因素来自于要顺从的压力,不管是对还是错。面对被认为“时髦”因为“现在就是这样”的压力,追寻真理总是需要勇气和诚意的。

当某个时髦的观点占据了社会的中心舞台,它往往会去击退相反的观点。 有些读者可能会发现,正如我们已经看到的,很难在大学或公共图书馆找到批判进化论的严肃科学作品。 这类书籍常常不归在科学类,却在宗教类。不支持进化论的书籍可能有时候在出版方面遇到困难,看到科学机构的人员因为持有非传统的进化论观点而受到排挤(或者他们从未占据重要的位置)也绝非例外。今天,许多反对进化论的研究人员和科学家在发表有争议的作品时,要不就完全隐瞒自己的思想和想法,要不就假借某种名义,因为担心失去工作或受到嘲弄。

在这样一个如此习惯了扭曲的科学事实的世界,普遍的偏见,企图扼杀真正的学术自由和人类想要“时髦”的天性,其结果不难想象为何进化理论变得如此被广泛接受,即便是在科学界。

阅读 进化 Page 3

脚注
1编辑报告,小威廉•伦道夫•赫斯特,《先驱考察家报》,洛杉矶,1971年11月14日。
2查尔斯•达尔文:《一个地方的力量》(普林斯顿,2002年),作者:珍妮特•布朗。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

进化的证据
性的进化
化石记录的问题
人类的进化
创造和进化
进化论
辟尔唐人
人类进化
进化论和化石记录
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 进化 to My Google!
Add 进化 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 进化
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Evolution

allaboutscience
(Read Evolution Part 1 First)

Evolution - Degrees of Commitment by Scientists
There is a great variety among scientists and others who believe evolution. Some are true crusaders for the doctrine. This is logical -- if a person really believes in a philosophy, he will likely spread it.

Others echo it gladly, and a great multitude simply go along because it seems to be the thing to do. Most scientists are no experts in the relevant fields, such as microbiology and genetics, and merely have an opinion on the subject like anyone else. Many of these scientists have serious doubts about evolution, but they keep their reservations to themselves. And, of course, a great many people -- including scientists -- are honestly confused on this question. Not because of evidence, but because of presumed evidence -- this is a major explanation for the prevalence of evolutionary belief.

Evolution - A Fashionable False Idea
William Randolph Hearst, Jr., once wrote about pressures from "fashionable ideas...which are advanced with such force that common sense itself becomes the victim." A person under such pressure may then act, he said, "with an irrationality which is almost beyond belief."1 It is exactly thus with the overwhelming pressure to accept evolution. This pressure is not only applied by the scientific establishment, but also by sympathizers in the media and politics, for reasons that go far beyond science and with an enormous influence and exposure to the masses. Janet Browne writes about how this started: “It was to Darwin’s friends that the first wave of positive responses must be attributed. For it was obvious that Darwin’s theories were as useful to them as they were to his theories. Over the following decades, Darwin’s defenders came to occupy influential niches in British and American intellectual life. Together, these men would also control the scientific media of the day, especially the important journals....Darwin’s opponents failed to achieve anything like the same command of the media or penetration of significant institutions.”2

Over the years, the power that the "myth" of evolution has gained over the public, through the human desire to conform, almost amounts to mass hypnosis. It has its effect because people have been led to think that it is the "orthodox" view among those whom they consider to be scientific and worldly-wise.

A scientist thus affected is reluctant to examine the evidence open-mindedly. The problem is not scientific -- it is emotional. One can easily become committed to what appears to be a fashionable philosophy, the "in" thing among his peers. The deciding factor is the pressure to conform, right or wrong. It always takes courage and intentional honesty to seek the truth in the face of the compulsion to be considered "in" because of "being like."

When a fashionable idea has the center of the stage in a society, it tends to drive off opposing viewpoints. Some readers may find, as we have, that it is difficult to locate in university and public libraries certain serious scientific works critical of evolution. Books of this type have a way of not ending up in the science section but instead in the religious section. Scientific works which fail to support evolution may sometimes run into difficulty getting into print and it is not exceptional to see staff members of scientific institutions lose certain positions (or never occupy certain positions in the first place) because of their unorthodox view on evolution. Today, many researchers and scientists who reject the theory of evolution either hide their thoughts and ideas completely or hide behind pseudonyms when publishing controversial ideas, fearing job loss or ridicule.

In a world which has gradually become so acquainted with an unbalanced portrayal of scientific facts, as a result of general prejudice, efforts to stifle true academic freedom and the natural human desire to be "in style," it is not hard to imagine why the theory of evolution has become so widely accepted even among scientists.

Read Evolution Page 3 Now!

Footnotes
1 Editor's Report by William Randolph Hearst, Jr., The Herald-Examiner, Los Angeles, Nov.14 1971.
2 Charles Darwin: The Power of Place (Princeton, 2002), by Janet Browne.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?