共生现象

共生现象

 
当前位置: 科学 >> 共生现象

共生现象 — 是什么?
共生现象一词说的是不同的生物有机体之间密切的相互关联和相互依存关系,完全不同的生命形式彼此依赖生存。共生互利的一个例子是藻类和地衣真菌。当真菌为藻类提供重要的保护和水分,藻类则用光合营养素滋养真菌,让它们存活。

另一个相互共生的例子是小丑鱼生活在里泰里海葵的触角里。寄居的鱼保护海葵不受肉食性鱼类的掠食,相应地,海葵触角的尖刺保护小丑鱼远离它的天敌。而小丑鱼身上特殊的黏液则保护它免受触角的刺痛。

通过昆虫授粉的植物调整自己的花朵以提高某一特定传粉者的授粉,而这个传粉者也会相应调整。许多食草动物有互惠的肠道菌群来帮助它们消化植物。珊瑚礁就是珊瑚体和寄居在它们中的各种藻类互惠共生的结果。大多数陆生植物和陆地生态系统依赖于从空气中固定碳的植物与帮助从土壤里提取矿物质的真菌之间的互生互利。

共生 — 进化的一个挑战?
达尔文的生物进化理论是基于形成种群的个体竞争。在《物种起源》中,达尔文承认,“如果可以证明任何一个物种的任何结构的形成是为了完全有益于另一个物种,它会消灭我的理论,因为这是不可能通过自然选择产生的。”

那些需要某些动物才能存活的植物怎么能先于这些动物之前存在呢?此外,需要其他的动物才能生存的动物怎能出现,而它们的搭档却没有在同一时刻现身?

共生和内共生
一个经常被引用的关于细胞内细胞器的起源问题流行的理论是内共生法则。这个假说提出叶绿体和线粒体由自由存活的好氧的原核祖先开始,它们被古老的原核细胞吞噬。这些内共生菌最终成了细胞内细胞器,之后显然把自己的许多基因输给了宿主细胞核。然而,被吞噬的好氧的入侵者和厌氧的宿主之间如此稳定的关系如何成为可能-为什么某些特定的基因而不是其他的转移到宿主的细胞核-这些都还没有得到证明。看起来完全不可能的是细胞顺便发育出一条通道把细胞器的蛋白质送回到相关的细胞器。如果没有形成这种通道的机制,一旦基因转移到细胞核开始,细胞器就会被废弃。此外,细胞器可能会停止运作,因为它们不会赋予一个选择的优势。

对有多少基因输给宿主细胞核了解可能源自一个事实,即细胞质为线粒体合成了以下蛋白质:氨酰tRNA合成酶; DNA复制酶;RNA聚合酶;柠檬酸循环的可溶酶等。很明显,由于蛋白质是在两个独立位置制成的,核编码蛋白质必需被输进线粒体和叶绿体。主要的困难在于输入的蛋白质必需穿过一些小区域进入双细胞器,因为细胞器具有双膜。就在这里,当分子伴侣通过空间的孔进入线粒体基质时,它们绑定多肽链。类似的过程在蛋白质导入到叶绿体时也会发生。由于植物细胞都具有叶绿体和线粒体,两个不同种类的信号肽都需要发送蛋白质到正确的位置。

这种非常复杂的运送安排提出了这样的问题,它们如何产生?关于原来的内共生体与宿主细胞核共享基因组,会有什么选择性的优势?因为如果不这么难的话,另一个后续的问题就会因这个事实而产生,所有宿主细胞的脂肪酸和若干的氨基酸是由叶绿体基质中的酶制成的。我们现在有一个逆向转移。当然内共生只能在高度发达的代谢系统存在时才能发生。

了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

人类进化
查尔斯•达尔文
创造的证据
达尔文的进化论
性的进化
进化论和化石记录
暗能量
化石记录
共选
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 共生现象 to My Google!
Add 共生现象 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 共生现象
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Symbiosis

allaboutscience

Symbiosis – What is it?
The term symbiosis relates to close interactions between different biological organisms and the interdependent relationships between living things, in which completely different forms of life depend upon each other for existence. One example of beneficial symbiosis (or mutualism) is found between algae and the fungus of lichens. While fungi provide vital protection and moisture to algae, the algae nourish the fungi with photosynthetic nutrients that keep them alive.

Another example of mutual symbiosis is the relationship which exists between the ocellaris clownfish that dwells among the tentacles of Ritteri sea anemones. The territorial fish protects the anemone from carnivorous fish, and in turn the stinging tentacles of the anemone protect the clownfish from its predators. A special mucus on the clownfish protects it from the stinging tentacles.

Plants that are pollinated by insects have highly specialized flowers modified to promote pollination by a specific pollinator that is also correspondingly adapted. Many herbivores have mutualistic gut fauna that aid them in the digestion of plant matter. Coral reefs are the result of mutualistic symbiotic relationships existing between coral organisms and various types of algae that live inside them. Most land plants and land ecosystems rely on mutualisms between the plants which fix carbon from the air, and fungi which help in extracting minerals from the ground.

Symbiosis – A challenge to evolution?
Darwin’s theory of biological change was based upon competition among the individuals making up a species. In The Origin, Darwin concedes that “If it could be proved that any part of the structure of any one species had been formed for the exclusive good of another species, it would annihilate my theory, for such could not have been produced through natural selection.”

How can plants that require certain animals to survive have existed before those animals appeared in the first place? Moreover, how do animals that need other animals to survive arrive without their partners arriving at the exact same moment?

Symbiosis and endosymbiosis
A popular theory often cited in reference to the origin of intracellular organelles is the principle of endosymbiosis. This hypothesis proposes that chloroplasts and mitochondria began as freeliving aerobic prokaryotic ancestors which were engulfed by an ancient prokaryotic cell. These endosymbionts eventually became the intracellular organelles, which then apparently lost many of their own genes to the nuclei of their hosts. However, how such a stable relationship between ingested aerobic invaders and an anaerobic host was possible -- and why some specific genes and not others should be transferred to the host’s nucleus -- has yet to be documented. It seems highly unlikely that the cell conveniently developed the transport pathways to return the organelle proteins back to the relevant organelle. With no mechanism by which the pathway could be formed, the organelles would become obsolete once the transfer of genes to the nucleus was initiated. Furthermore, the organelles would likely cease to function because they would not confer a selection advantage.

An insight into how many genes were lost to the host nucleus may be derived from the fact that the cytosol synthesises for the mitochondria the following proteins: aminoacyl-tRNA synthases; DNA replication enzymes; RNA polymerase; soluble enzymes of the citric acid cycle etc. It is clear that, since proteins are made at two independent sites, nuclear-coded proteins must be imported into mitochondria and chloroplasts. The principle difficulty lies in the fact that imported proteins have to cross subcompartments to get into both organelles as the organelles possess double membranes. Here is where chaperones are required to bind the polypeptide chains just as they emerge through spacial pores into the mitochondrial matrix. A similar process operates in the importing of proteins into the chloroplast. Because platn cells possess both chloroplasts and mitochondria, two different kinds of signal peptides are also required to send proteins to the correct addresses.

The immensely sophisticated transport arrangements raises the question as to how they arose and what selective advantages there would have been in relation to the original endosymbionts to share genomes with the nucleus of the host cell. As if this is not difficult enough, a further logistical problem is created by the fact that all of the host cell’s fatty acids and a number of amino acids are made by enzymes in the chloroplast stroma. We have now a transfer in reverse. Of course endosymbiosis could only take place when cells with highly developed metabolic systems were in existence.

Learn More!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?