多元世界假说

多元世界假说

 
当前位置: 科学 >> 多元世界假说

多元世界的假说
亚历山大•维兰金,《多元世界:寻找其它的宇宙》的作者指出,“对于大多数物理学家而言,接受这个有很多困难。 一个单一的突然出现的宇宙开始看上去是神力的介入,而这被他们认为在物理学理论中没有立足之地。”维兰金一定把自己归入这些物理学家之列,因为其2006年的著作曾提出,在整个大爆炸剧烈时期有无数的“宇宙岛”形成。 我们是这浩瀚宇宙无数岛屿中的斑驳一点。 他认为,在整个庞大的多元宇宙中我们有无数的多重的自己的克隆体,我觉得他的看法既迷人又荒谬。

    世界新蓝图的惊人后果是,应该有无穷的有历史的区域,它们和我们的完全一样。 是的,亲爱的读者,你的许多的复制品此刻正拿着这本书的副本。他们生活在和我们的地球上完全一样的星球上,有山脉,城市,树木和蝴蝶。 地球绕着太阳完美的副本在旋转,每一个太阳属于一个大的螺旋星系 — 我们银河系的翻版1

多元世界假说 — 异议
不幸的是,维兰金的观点从一开始就有致命的缺陷。 无限的概念只有在数学领域可以有效地应用;它与任何客观世界的数字无关。 物理学家认识到这一点,而且当他们发现这是一个有用的数学工具时,他们充分认识到它没有现实基础。 事实上,在量子电动力学方面产生了重正化过程,就是因为科学家们无法弄清一个客观的无限的含义。 在重正化中,无穷转换回有理数。

依据客观的无穷概念的必要,维兰金的论点应引起人们对其结论的质疑。 约翰尼斯•开普勒在1610年和海因里希•奥伯斯在1823年都观察到,如果宇宙是无限的,那么夜晚的天空应该一直被照亮。 因为在一个无限的宇宙,每一道光线会最终达到一颗恒星,而亮度不依距离而改变,我们应该看到来自恒星的光遍布整个天空。 我们应该看到明亮的夜空,但我们却没有。这个问题被称为奥伯斯悖论,它对无穷宇宙的概念提出了有力的批评。

多元世界假说 — 影响
当提出一个永远沿着正时间箭头膨胀的多元宇宙时,维兰金的模式并不意味着某种情况一直是永恒的。 维兰金指出,“结论是,没有一个开端的膨胀是不可能的”2但是,这对维兰金的结论提出来一个潜在的哲学问题。 基督教哲学家威廉•莱恩•克雷格指出:

    维兰金...似乎假定一个时间静态理论,或是有时被称为四维空间论或时空现实论,根据所有时空的指向,不论是过去,现在或将来,都同样真实。 因为如果时间的发生是现实的一个客观特征,正如我在《时间和永恒》(克洛斯维,2001年)中所说的,那么地球的未来可能是无限的,未来的大爆炸在任何意义上都不存在。 如果有一个全球的形成趋势,那么就没有实际的大爆炸后的无限集合3
讨论时间的时候,哲学家承认和支持的要么是维兰金提出的时间静态理论,要么是由克雷格主张的时间动态理论。 时间静态理论说的是所有的时间,过去,现在和将来,是同样存在的实体。 时间动态理论提出了时间的不断变化,从一个瞬间到下一个。 如果动态理论是正确的,维兰金的模式实际上并没有展现出无穷的宇宙岛,因为那些未来的岛还不存在。 因此,那种认为我们每个人在准相同的宇宙中都有多个自己的想法,饱受缺乏真正无穷之苦,因为维兰金的模型需要一个开始。 在动态时间中开始的时刻和此刻表明了有限的时间范围界限。

多元世界假说 — 缺乏逻辑
虽然维兰金承认有一个开始,但他对开始的解释也有其缺陷。 他写道:

    宇宙来源于虚无的想法令人惊奇。 到底“虚无”是什么意思? 如果这个“虚无”可以通向某物,会是什么开启了最初的隧道之旅?...隧道之前的初始状态是...根本没有宇宙。 在这个非常特殊的状态下,没有物质,没有空间。 同样,也不存在时间4
上述所说都非常合理,直到他说道:
    然而,“无”状态并不等同于绝对的虚无。 量子力学定律描述了隧道的打通,因此“虚无”应该遵从这些定律。 即使没有宇宙,物理学定律也一定存在。5
拒绝考虑上帝假说,维兰金只是刚刚开始了一项循环论证工作。 既然开启隧道必须发生,物理定律必须在物质,能量,空间和时间存在之前存在。 然而,量子隧道,作为多元宇宙起源的最初事件,正是维兰金建议给读者的前提。 为了证明允许量子事件发生的必要的物理定律的存在,而假定量子事件,这在逻辑上是荒谬的。
    维兰金接着说:

    如果在宇宙突然产生之前没有空无一物,那么是什么开启了隧道? 值得注意的是,答案是:没有必须的起因。 在经典物理学中,因果关系决定了事情此时到彼时的发生,但在量子力学中,物体的运动是不可预知的,有些量子过程没有任何原因。6
那种认为量子事件可能最终没有起因的想法极具争议,因为这个前提没有正确使用海森堡的测不准原理。 但更大的问题在于看似没有引因的量子事件仍存在。量子隧道总是涉及物质的运动,不论该物质多么的微小,从一个时空中的相对位置到另一个,从未来自于“虚无”。

继续阅读!

1 亚历山大•维兰金。 多元的世界 ,纽约:希尔和万德出版公司,2006年,112。
2 同上。,175。
3 http://www.reasonablefaith.org/site/News2?page=NewsArticle&id=5741
4 亚历山大•维兰金。多元的世界,180。
5 同上。181。
6 同上。

摘自R.C.梅特卡夫的《与耶稣的碰撞》。更多信息,请浏览www.ThinkAgain.us (英文网站)。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

理查德•道金斯
薛定谔
多元世界假说
谁创造了上帝?
自然中的设计
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 多元世界假说 to My Google!
Add 多元世界假说 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 多元世界假说
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Many Worlds Hypothesis

allaboutscience
Many Worlds Hypothesis

Many Worlds Hypothesis
Alexander Vilenkin, author of Many Worlds in One: The Search for Other Universes, notes that, “For most physicists this was too much to take. A singular jump-starting of the universe looked like a divine intervention, for which they thought there should be no place in physical theory.” Vilenkin must have included himself among those physicists, because in his 2006 treatise he proposed that throughout the inflationary period of the big bang an infinite number of “island universes” formed. Our location among these universes is merely a speck within one of these islands. I find his claim that we have an infinite number of multiple clones of ourselves throughout this vast multiverse both fascinating and absurd.

    A striking consequence of the new picture of the world is that there should be an infinity of regions with histories absolutely identical to ours. Yes, dear reader, scores of your duplicates are now holding copies of this book. They live on planets exactly like our Earth, with all its mountains, cities, trees, and butterflies. The earths revolve around perfect copies of our Sun, and each sun belongs to a grand spiral galaxy – an exact replica of our Milky Way.1

Many Worlds Hypothesis – Objections
Unfortunately, Vilenkin’s views are fatally flawed from the outset. The concept of infinity only has valid application in mathematics; it does not correspond to any real world number. Physicists recognize this, and while they find it a useful mathematical tool, they fully realize that it has no basis in reality. In fact, the process of renormalization arose in quantum electrodynamics precisely because scientists could not make sense of an actual infinite. During renormalization, infinities convert back to rational numbers.

Vilenkin’s arguments, based on the necessity of an actual infinite, should cause one to question his conclusions. In 1610 Johannes Kepler, and later in 1823, Heinrich Wilhelm Olbers, observed that the night sky should actually remain brightly lit if the universe is infinite. Since, in an infinite universe, every line of sight will eventually reach a star, and brightness does not depend on distance, we should see light emanating from stars throughout the entire sky. We should see a brilliantly illuminated night sky, but we do not. This problem became known as Olbers’ Paradox, and it provides a devastating critique of the concept of an infinite universe.

Many Worlds Hypothesis – The Implications
Vilenkin’s model, while presenting a multiverse that expands eternally along a positive arrow of time, does not imply a situation that has always been eternal. Vilenkin states that, “The conclusion is that past-eternal inflation without a beginning is impossible.”2 However, this presents a potential philosophical problem with Vilenkin’s conclusions. Christian philosopher William Lane Craig points out that:

    Vilenkin … seems to presuppose a static theory of time or, as it is sometimes called, four-dimensionalism or spacetime realism, according to which all spacetime points, whether past, present, or future, are equally real. For if temporal becoming is an objective feature of reality, as I have argued in my Time and Eternity (Crossway, 2001), then the global future is potentially infinite only, and future Big Bangs do not in any sense exist. If there is a global tide of becoming, then there is no actually infinite collection of Big Bangs after all.3
When discussing time, philosophers recognize and support either the static theory of time, as represented by Vilenkin’s views, or the dynamic theory of time supported by Craig. The static theory represents all of time, past, present and future as equally existing entities. The dynamic theory presents time as constantly in flux, moving from one instant to the next. If the dynamic theory is correct, Vilenkin’s model does not actually offer an infinite number of island universes, for those in the future do not yet exist. Hence, the idea that we each have multiple clones of ourselves on infinite quasi-identical universes suffers from the lack of a real infinity, since Vilenkin’s model requires a beginning. This beginning moment and the present moment in dynamic time represent the bounds of a finite period of time.

Many Worlds Hypothesis – Poor Logic
While Vilenkin admits to a beginning, his explanation of that beginning also has its flaws. Vilenkin writes:

    The concept of a universe materializing out of nothing boggles the mind. What exactly is meant by “nothing”? If this “nothing” could tunnel into something, what could have caused the primary tunneling event?… The initial state prior to the tunneling is… no universe at all. There is no matter and no space in this very peculiar state. Also, there is no time.4
These are all very reasonable comments until Vilenkin continues:
    And yet, the state of “nothing” cannot be identified with absolute nothingness. The tunneling is described by the laws of quantum mechanics, and thus “nothing” should be subjected to these laws. The laws of physics must have existed, even though there was no universe.5
In refusing to consider the God hypothesis, Vilenkin has just embarked on an exercise of circular reasoning. Since the tunneling must have occurred, the laws of physics must have existed before matter, energy, space or time existed. Yet, quantum tunneling, as the initial event in the origin of the multiverse, is exactly the premise Vilenkin suggests to the reader. It is logically fallacious to presuppose a quantum event in order to prove the existence of physical laws necessary to allow for that quantum event.
    Vilenkin goes on to state that:

    If there was nothing before the universe popped out, then what could have caused the tunneling? Remarkably, the answer is that no cause is required. In classical physics, causality dictates what happens from one moment to the next, but in quantum mechanics the behavior of physical objects is inherently unpredictable and some quantum processes have no cause at all.6
The idea that quantum events may ultimately have no cause is highly debatable, since this premise arises from a misuse of the Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle. But the greater problem here lies in the fact that quantum events that appear uncaused still have existence. Quantum tunneling always involves movement of matter, no matter how tiny, from one relative location in spacetime to another location in spacetime, never from a place of “nothingness.”

Keep Reading!

1 Alexander Vilenkin, Many Worlds in One (New York: Hill and Wand, 2006), 112.
2 Ibid., 175.
3 http://www.reasonablefaith.org/site/News2?page=NewsArticle&id=5741
4 Alexander Vilenkin, Many Worlds in One, 180.
5 Ibid., 181.
6 Ibid.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?