自然中的设计

自然中的设计

 
当前位置: 科学 >> 自然中的设计

自然中的设计
理查德•道金斯在第四前提下提出了他反对设计假说的第二个观点。 他称赞进化论的解释范围是实际设计说的一个反例,声称进化论使得设计的假说只是一个假象。 我们已经看到,道金斯需要巧妙地引用上帝不存在的假设来证实第二个前提,即设计假说的谬误。 在第四个前提中,他企图通过提出进化论作为更好,更简单的选择,作为驳斥设计假说的支持。 毫无疑问,进化是设计假说的最大的对手之一,但它没有反驳上帝的假说。 即使我们从演化最坚定的支持者的眼中看演化,而忽视其假定的问题,它与上帝的假说是不相容的,排斥似乎是道金斯书的核心主题。

自然中的设计 — 或者有多个宇宙?
在前提五和六中,道金斯谈到了缺乏一个物理模型的解释来抗衡进化的生物学解释。 他建议,多元宇宙理论可能“原则上,能够给出物理学的解释,就像道金斯为进化做出的生物学解释。”不过,多元宇宙理论,作为道金斯科学的标志之一,虽然思维巧妙,却缺乏可测试性。 它们还缺乏在他的结论中所要求的简单性。 正如我们将会看到的,在这个系列中描述的纯自然模型提供了一个可检验的,经得起询问的选择。

自然中的设计 — 谁设计了设计师?
《上帝幻觉》成书的早些时候,理查德•道金斯表示,“无论我们对上帝知道的多么少,有一件事我们可以肯定,他必须非常非常复杂而且,据推测,是不能简化的!”1 在《上帝幻觉》整部书中,道金斯能‘肯定’的许多事情要么明显虚假,要么只是模仿基督教。 把错误知识当作事实来表述就如同立了一个很容易推倒的稻草人。 这种花言巧语并不会使知识渊博的基督徒受到困扰,倒是稻草人的谬误很可能误导不知情的无神论者或想要弄明白道金斯作品的不可知论者。

    真正的不合理的上帝假说和明显不切实际的多元宇宙论之间的主要差别在于数据上的不可能性。 多元宇宙虽然不合情理但很简单。 上帝,或任何智能、制定决策和精于计算的代表,和他要去解释的实体一样,从数据角度上说是及不可能的。 多元宇宙在宇宙的数量上似乎是没有道理的。 但是,如果每一个宇宙的基本法则都简单,我们不去假想任何不太可能的事2
在现实中,教会历史经常宣传上帝的简单性。 在圣经里,神是灵(约翰福音4:24),被认为是一个非常简单的存在,正如克雷格博士指出的那样:
    道金斯的根本错误在于他假定超人类的设计者是一个可以和宇宙的复杂性相匹敌的实体。 作为一个没有肉身的灵,上帝是一个异常简单的实体。 作为一个非物质的实体,灵不是由各部分组成,它的显著特征,如自我意识,理性和意志,是它必不可少的部分。 与复杂多变的,有着令人费解的数量和常量的宇宙相反,神的心智简单到令人吃惊。 当然,这样的心智可能有复杂的想法 — 比如,它可能会想到微积分,但该心智本身是一个非常简单的实体。道金斯显然混淆了由心智产生的观念,虽然这些观念可能确实复杂,但这个心智本身却是极其简单的实体。3
说到复杂性,上帝无法与多元宇宙理论相提并论。 即使没有其它宇宙的存在,上帝也没有我们已知的宇宙复杂。 然而,许多多元宇宙理论者认为,宇宙中适于生命存在的原因是有不计其数的其他宇宙的存在,每一个都有其特定的物理定律! 你能想象这种水平的复杂性吗?

如果道金斯依赖于多元宇宙理论,他所寻找的一个简单却有很大的解释空间的物理模型可能要费很长一段时间。幸运的是,纯自然的模式可能为他提供了他所寻找解释的范围。 道金斯写道,“如果有东西显示存在于超自然世界,他现在还没有完全被理解,我们希望最终了解他并在自然中接受他”4。我们希望他说这些话是认真的,即使他被要求接受他现在如此强烈反对的上帝。

继续阅读!

1 理查德•道金斯。上帝是幻觉,马萨诸塞州,波士顿:霍顿米夫林出版公司,2006,125。
2 同上。146-147。
3 http://www.reasonablefaith.org/site/News2?page=NewsArticle&id=5493
4 理查德•道金斯。上帝是幻觉,14。

摘自R.C.梅特卡夫的《与耶稣的碰撞》。更多信息,请浏览www.ThinkAgain.us (英文网站)。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

多元世界假说
谁创造了上帝?
自然中的设计
理查德•道金斯
薛定谔
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 自然中的设计 to My Google!
Add 自然中的设计 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 自然中的设计
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Design in Nature

allaboutscience
Design in Nature

Design in Nature
Richard Dawkins’ fourth premise offers his second argument against the design hypothesis. He lauds the explanatory scope of evolution as a counterproposal to actual design, claiming that evolution has rendered the design hypothesis nothing more than an illusion. We have already seen that Dawkins needed to subtly invoke the presumption of the non-existence of God in order to substantiate premise two, the falsity of the design hypothesis. In premise four, he attempts to support his refutation of the design hypothesis by offering evolution as the better, and simpler, alternative. Without a doubt, evolution is one of the strongest rivals of the design hypothesis, but it does not refute the God hypothesis. Even if we regard evolution through the eyes of its staunchest proponents, and ignore its presumed problems, it is not incompatible with the God hypothesis, the rejection of which appears to be the central theme of Dawkins’ book.

Design in Nature – or are there multiple universes?
In premises five and six, Dawkins addresses the lack of an explanatory model in physics that rivals the explanatory value of evolution to biology. He suggests that multiverse theories may “in principle do for physics the same explanatory work as Darwinism does for biology.” However, multiverse theories, while wonderfully speculative, lack testability, one of the hallmarks of Dawkins’ science. They also lack the simplicity he desires in his solutions. As we will see, the omninatural model described in this series provides a testable alternative that should warrant further enquiry.

Design in Nature – but who designed the designer?
Earlier in The God Delusion, Richard Dawkins stated, “however little we know about God, the one thing we can be sure of is that he would have to be very very complex and presumably irreducibly so!”1 Throughout The God Delusion, many of the things Dawkins was “sure of” were either plainly false or mere caricatures of Christianity. The representation of faulty knowledge as fact sets up a straw man that is easily torn down. Such a rhetorical device won’t faze a knowledgeable Christian, but the use of the straw man fallacy may very well mislead the unsuspecting atheist or agnostic reader who wants to believe what Dawkins writes.

    The key difference between the genuinely extravagant God hypothesis and the apparently extravagant multiverse hypothesis is one of statistical improbability. The multiverse, for all that it is extravagant, is simple. God, or any intelligent, decision-taking, calculating agent, would have to be highly improbable in the very same statistical sense as the entities he is supposed to explain. The multiverse may seem extravagant in sheer number of universes. But if each one of those universes is simple in its fundamental laws, we are still not postulating anything highly improbable.2
In reality, church history has regularly touted the doctrine of the simplicity of God. Biblically, God is spirit (John 4:24) and is regarded as a very simple being, as Dr. Craig notes:
    Dawkins' fundamental mistake lies in his assumption that a divine designer is an entity comparable in complexity to the universe. As an unembodied mind, God is a remarkably simple entity. As a non-physical entity, a mind is not composed of parts, and its salient properties, like self-consciousness, rationality, and volition, are essential to it. In contrast to the contingent and variegated universe with all its inexplicable quantities and constants, a divine mind is startlingly simple. Certainly such a mind may have complex ideas—it may be thinking, for example, of the infinitesimal calculus—, but the mind itself is a remarkably simple entity. Dawkins has evidently confused a mind's ideas, which may, indeed, be complex, with a mind itself, which is an incredibly simple entity.3
God can’t hold a candle to multiverse theories when it comes to complexity. Even if no other universe exists, God himself is less complex than the universe we know empirically. However, many multiverse theorists suggest that the reason our universe is hospitable to life lies in the fact that an infinite numbers of other universes exist, each with its own set of physical laws! Can you imagine such a level of complexity?

Dawkins’ search for a simple model in physics with a vast explanatory scope may be a long time coming if he relies upon the multiverse theorists. Fortunately, the omninatural model may offer just the explanatory scope he seeks. Dawkins wrote, “If there is something that appears to lie beyond the natural world as it is now imperfectly understood, we hope eventually to understand it and embrace it within the natural.”4 Let us hope that he means those words, even if they require him to embrace the God he now so ardently rejects.

Keep Reading!

1 Richard Dawkins, The God Delusion (Boston, MA: Houghton Mifflin, 2006), 125.
2 Ibid., 146-147.
3 http://www.reasonablefaith.org/site/News2?page=NewsArticle&id=5493
4 Richard Dawkins, The God Delusion, 14.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?