共选

共选

 
当前位置: 科学 >> 共选

共选 — 介绍
共选是一个提出的解决活细胞固有的“不能简化的复杂的”装置的方法。不可简化的复杂性涉及到一般的复杂系统的特点,它们需要其各组成部分就位使系统作为一个整体运作。换句话说,消除一个不可能的复杂系统的任何组成部分却仍然保持其功能是不可能的。

这一概念通过里海大学教授迈克尔•贝赫的突破性著作《达尔文的黑盒子》得到普及。贝赫用捕鼠器的例子来解释这个概念。一个捕鼠器由五个相互作用的部分组成-底座,鼠夹,弹簧,小锤和固定的支架。为了捕鼠器正常的工作,所有这些都必须个就其位,因为拆除任何一个部件都会破坏捕鼠器的功能。同样,生物系统需要多个部分协同合作。移除任何的构成部分就会使整个系统丧失功能。

贝赫最著名来自生物系统的不能简化复杂系统的例子是细菌鞭毛。超过40种不同的蛋白质构成典型的细菌鞭毛。这些蛋白质共同作用,就像一个旋转的马达。细菌鞭毛的组成部分就好像一个人造马达的各个零件,包括轮子,固定片,传动轴,套管,万向接头,和推进器。

批评者用共选这个概念来回应“不可简化的复杂性”这个观点。按照这一假说,显然不能简化的复杂系统可以从更简单的服务于其他无关功能的系统进化而来。肯尼斯•米勒提出的一个观点是,鞭毛的基体在许多方面类似于III型分泌系统,一个致病细菌利用的针状的结构向活的真核细胞中注入毒素。针的基体有十种与鞭毛一样的成分,但它缺少使鞭毛工作的四十种蛋白质。因此,肯尼思•米勒总结说,“这个据信是不能简化的复杂系统的某些部分其实有自己的职能。”对米勒的把共选和鞭毛的发动机联系起来的论点,他的批评者指出,两个系统的基因序列分析表明鞭毛的发动机出现在先,然后才是泵。换句话说,如果有的话,是泵发展自马达,不是马达来自泵。

共选 — 挑战
为了共选能产生细菌鞭毛,所有的部件都需要同时存在,并在大致相同的地方,它们所有都必须有其他的自然选择的,有用的功能。但是缺乏证据证明这种情况。

此外,共选使各组件之间相互兼容成为必然。一个螺栓过大或过小,或螺纹太细或太粗都不能与螺母相配来拧紧。同样,缺乏基本的证据表明这种接口的兼容性曾经存在。

即使所有部件同时具备,都在合适的位置,并在功能上是兼容的,仍然需要一个连结机制,而且这个机制在每一个细节上都必须完备-否则就会产生不完整或不正确的连结结果。因此,这个机制意味着不能简化复杂性的另一个障碍。连结的时机和相互的协作必需恰到好处-而且必须给出详细的连结指令,否则难以想象会有任何的运作。迄今为止,没有被证明的物质机制,能够产生复杂和高度特殊的连结指令,而这些是必需的。

共选 — 结论
虽然共选是个有趣的想法,但需要更多的研究来确立它作为已经渗透生命的生物化学的不可简化的复杂系统的合理的解释。共选论点假定它寻求的某个东西的解释的必要-一种功能上相互依存的蛋白质系统。直到进行一个详尽的分析,并构建一个可行的模型,这个凭空的假设才能作为一个猜想,它不是依据经验数据,而是建立在对达尔文主义模式的推理之上。

了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

达尔文的进化论
科学方法
性的进化
查尔斯•达尔文
进化论
进化论和创造论
进化
创造的证据
进化论
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 共选 to My Google!
Add 共选 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 共选

Co-option

Co-option

 
You are here: Science >> Co-option

Co-option – An Introduction
Co-option is a proposed solution to the problem of “irreducibly complex” machines inherent in living cells. Irreducible complexity relates to a characteristic of common complex systems whereby they need all of their individual components parts in place in order to impart functionality to the system as a whole. In other words, it is impossible to reduce the complexity of an irreducibly complex system by removing any of its component parts and still maintain its functionality.

The concept was popularized by Lehigh University Professor Michael Behe in his breakthrough book “Darwin’s black Box.” Behe uses the mousetrap as an illustrative example of this concept. A mousetrap consists of five interacting pieces -- the base, the catch, the spring, the hammer, and the hold-down bar. All of these must be in place for the mousetrap to work, as the removal of any one piece destroys the function of the mousetrap. In like manner, biological systems require multiple parts working together in order to function. Removal of one of the constituent parts renders the entire system non-functional.

Behe’s best known example of an irreducibly complex system from biological systems is the bacterial flagellum. An ensemble of over forty different kinds of proteins makes up the typical bacterial flagellum. These proteins function in concert as a literal rotary motor. The bacterial flagellum’s components stand as direct analogs to the parts of a man-made motor, including a rotor, stator, drive shaft, bushing, universal joint, and propeller.

Critics of the notion of “Irreducible complexity” have responded with reference to the concept of co-option. According to this hypothesis, apparently irreducibly complex systems can evolve from simpler precursors which serve other unrelated functions. One such argument that Kenneth Miller has advanced is that the basal body of the flagella is similar in a number of respects to the Type III secretion system, a needle-like structure that pathogenic germs use to inject toxins into living eukaryotic cells. The needle’s base has ten elements in common with the flagellum, but it is missing forty of the proteins that make a flagellum work. Hence, Kenneth Miller concludes that, “The parts of this supposedly irreducibly complex system actually have functions of their own.” Critics of Miller’s co-optive idea as it relates to the flagellar motor point out that analysis of the gene sequences of the two systems suggest that the flagellar motor arose first and then the pump came later. In other words, if anything, the pump evolved from the motor, not the motor from the pump.

Co-option – The challenges
In order for co-option to produce a bacterial flagellum, all of the component parts would need to be present simultaneously and in roughly the same place, and all of them must have had other naturally-selectable, useful functions. The evidence is lacking, however, that such has ever been the case.

Moreover, co-option necessitates the compatibility of the components in relation to each other. A bolt that is too large or small, or that has threads that are too fine or too coarse to match those of the nut cannot be combined with the nut to make a fastener. Again, there is a substantial lack of evidence that this interface compatibility has ever existed.

Even if all the parts are available at the same time and in the correct location, and are functionally compatible, an assemble mechanism is still required, and that mechanism must be complete in every detail -- otherwise incomplete or improper assembly will result. The assembly mechanism thus represents yet another irreducibly complex hurdle. Assembly must be timed and coordinated perfectly -- and the assembly instructions must be complete in every detail, otherwise it is inconceivable that any function will result. To date, no materialistic mechanism has been documented that is able to produce the complex and highly specified assembly instructions which would be necessary to achieve such a fete.

Co-option – Conclusion
While the concept of co-option is certainly an interesting idea, more research is required to establish its tenability as a plausible explanation for the presence of apparent irreducibly complex systems which so permeate life’s biochemistry. The co-option argument tacitly presupposes the need for the very thing it seeks to explain -- a functionally interdependent system of proteins. Until a detailed analysis is undertaken, and a plausible model constructed, the hypothesis stands as a conjecture, based not upon empirical data, but upon an a-priori commitment to a Darwinistic paradigm.

Learn More!



Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others using the social media buttons below. What is this?

Share Us:





Follow Us:





Spanish   Chinese   Dutch  
Social Media
Follow Us:

Share Us:


View Short Video Clip on
Co-option

Co-option Video
Related Articles
Scientific Wordviews

Dawkins The Greatest Show on Earth
Evidence For Evolution
Evolutionism
Evolution And The Fossil Record
Evolution Of Man
Charles Darwin
Materialism Video
Intelligent Design vs Evolution
Fossil Record
Additional Content To Explore...

Philosophical Worldviews
Truth Claims
Theism
Founders of Belief Systems
Belief Systems
Discover Truth
Popular Issues
Life Challenges
Recovery
 
 
 
Search
 
Podcast Feed: Co-option
Add Co-option to My Google!
Add Co-option to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: Co-option

What do you think? Should intelligent design be taught in public schools?
I'm not a Christian and I say no   I'm not a Christian and I say yes   I'm a Christian and I say no   I'm a Christian and I say yes  
Science Home | About Us | Support Us | FAQ | Sitemap
Copyright © 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, All Rights Reserved.