手征

手征

 - 概述
当前位置: 科学 >> 手征

手征 — 概述
所有活的有机生命体的基础都是氨基酸的‘镜面'异构体。虽然正常的化学反应产生等量的左右对称,通常称为‘外消旋混合物',构成活细胞的细胞器的蛋白质全部由右型糖和左型氨基酸组成(称为'氨基酸对映体')。由于这种化学物质只以一种形式存在,它们被称为具有‘纯手性'。因此,任何关于生命起源的自然主义的解释,必须说明自然机制是如何产生第一代自我复制的生命体所必需的适当的镜面体。

手征 — 新达尔文主义的问题
手征对那些坚持生命起源的自然主义解释的人一直是个谜团。脱氧核糖核酸和核糖核酸在没有纯手征的情况下是不能在互补配对的。这意味着,外消旋的脱氧核糖核酸和核糖核酸不能复制。生物拥有的分子机械能产生同手性,但无向化学会产生同等的左手和右手异构体,称为外消旋混合物。没有任何已知的机制可以使外消旋酶多肽形成所需的特定形状,相反,它们会有侧链伸向各处。此外外,错误手性的氨基酸破坏蛋白质中α螺旋的稳定性。即便错误的手性的量很小,DNA也不能稳定在一个螺旋中,从而无法形成长链。微小的错误手征分子就能终止RNA的复制。

自然发生说,即生命起源于非生命物质,其关键是手征问题。这一模式的支持者必须回答像这样的问题“先有手征还是先有生命?”如果有人认为手征在先,这等于承认,如果没有'左手型'的氨基酸和'右手性'的糖,生命的结构和进程就不会成为可能。这时我们便要说明手征的来源。相反,如果有人认为生命在先,那就等同于说手征对于生命的结构和进程不像我们所知的那么重要。我们必须为‘原生物’中截然不同的新陈代谢进行诡辩,忽略多肽均聚物在传输质子和电子的氢键中的关键作用。此外,还必须为顺利过渡到我们今天所拥有的同手征做出解释 — 一个更加无法逾越的障碍。基于这些考虑,手征和生命同时出现才是合乎逻辑的解释。

手征 — 总结
手征对于生命起源的研究非常重要,因为氨基酸或糖类的非手征混合不利于核糖核酸,DNA和蛋白质的组成 — 而它们是所有生物体的组成部分。目前仍没有任何自然主义的解释来说明手征如何完全可以通过物质的过程而产生。增加超过适量的氨基酸和核酸对映体的过程只会适当增加蛋白质的比例,但却需要不真实的实验室条件。

了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

自然发生说
智能设计
科学方法
神是造物主
智能设计的证据
生命的起源
热力学第二定律
宇宙的微调
科学
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 手征 to My Google!
Add 手征 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 手征
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Chirality

allaboutscience

Chirality – A brief overview
All living organisms are based upon certain ‘mirror’ isomers of amino acids. Although normal chemical reactions produce right and left mirrors in equal amounts, often called a ‘racemic mixture’, the proteins which constitute the organelles in living cells are composed entirely of right handed forms of sugars and left handed forms of amino acids (called ‘enantiomers’). Because such chemicals exist exclusively in one form, they are referred to as being ‘homochiral’. Any naturalistic explanation for the origin of life must, therefore, provide an account of how naturalistic mechanisms would produce the proper mirrored building blocks necessary for the generation of the first self-replicating life form.

Chirality – A problem for neo-Darwinism
Chirality is a long-standing enigma for those who hold to a naturalistic explanation for the origin of life. DNA and RNA are not capable of complementary pair bonding in the absence of being homochiral. This means that racemic DNA or RNA cannot replicate. Living things possess molecular machinery to produce homochirality, but undirected chemistry would produce equal mixtures of the left-handed and right-handed isomers, called racemates. There is no known mechanism by which racemic polypeptides could form the specific shapes required for enzymes; rather, they would have the side chains sticking out all over the place. Moreover, a wrong-handed amino acid disrupts the stabilizing alpha-helix in proteins. DNA could not be stabilized in a helix if even a small proportion of the wrong-handed form was present, so it could not form long chains. Only a tiny fraction of wrong-handed molecules is required to terminate RNA replication.

The problem of chirality is crucial to the concept of abiogenesis -- that is, that life can originate from non-living matter. Proponents of such a model must answer questions such as ‘Which came first, homochirality or life?’ If one holds that homochirality was first, it is an admission that without ‘left-handed’ amino acids and ‘right-handed’ sugars, life’s structures and processes would not have been possible. One then has to account for the origin of this homochirality. Conversely, if one contends that life was first, then one is saying that chirality was not important to the origin of life’s structures and processes as we now know them. One must enter a special pleading for a vastly different metabolism in the ‘protobiont’, ignoring for instance the pivotal role of polypeptide homopolymers in hydrogen-bonded networks for proton and electron transport. Moreover, one must also account for the successful transition to homochirality as we have it today -- a problem which is, arguably, even more insurmountable. The logical conclusion from these considerations is that homochirality and life emerged simultaneously.

Chirality – Summary
The origin of homochirality is of fundamental importance in origin-of-life research, since non-homochiral mixtures of amino acids or sugars are not conducive to the composition of RNA, DNA and proteins -- the building blocks of all living organisms. There remains no naturalistic explanation that describes how homochirality could have arisen through entirely materialistic processes. Processes that can enhance the enantiomeric excess of appropriate amino acid or nucleic acid building blocks produce only modest increases in the percentage of those proteins, while requiring unrealistic, laboratory conditions.

Learn More!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?