自然发生说

自然发生说

 
当前位置: 科学 >> 自然发生说

自然发生说 — 简史
尽管达尔文本人把焦点集中在物种起源上,一些科学家却试图把进化的理念运用于最早的生命,从而形成自然发生的说法。 1924年,俄罗斯生物化学家亚历山大•奥帕林提出活细胞是通过一系列的化学反应由非生命物质逐渐发展而来。根据奥帕林的说法,由于光照或其他能量的原因,存在于原始地球大气层中的气体发生反应而形成简单的有机化合物。这些化合物进而自我组合成日益复杂的分子,如蛋白质。接下来,这些分子将自我组织形成活细胞。

1953年,斯坦利•米勒和哈罗德•尤里检验了奥帕林的假说,他们通过实验来模拟原始地球的大气条件。在实验中,把水煮沸成蒸汽存在一个烧瓶的底部,然后通过一种仪器,与氨,甲烷和氢气相混合。然后,在冷却和收集仪器底部的混合物之前,让其经受50000伏电压。当米勒和尤里检查最后的焦油状物质时,他们发现了氨基酸,即生命的基石。

自然发生说 — 问题
遗憾的是,米勒证明自然发生说的可能性(即生命可能来自于非生命)的努力并没有如实模拟原始地球条件。例如,氧显然存在于早期的地球 — 但氧的存在禁止了有机化合物的发展。尽管我们需要充足的氧气才能生存,我们的身体还需要许多特殊的调整来安全地使用它。20世纪50年代,生命起源的研究者认为早期地球含氧量很低。然而,现在的地质证据表明,有相当数量的氧存在于地球最早的大气中。如果科学家现在所认为的存在于早期地球上气体按正确的比例应用,这样的氨基酸不会生产。

不过,让我们假设米勒的实验忠实再现了早期地球上的条件,实验是否有效?另外一个主要困难是,这样的实验不能产生正确的氨基酸种类。氨基酸以镜面异构体存在。换句话说,有左手型(L型)氨基酸,也有右手型(D型)氨基酸。组成生命蛋白质的氨基酸是左手型的,但在米勒的模拟中,混合物里产生的左右手氨基酸的量相等。所有已知产生氨基酸的自然机制产生的左右手氨基酸的比例大致相同。我们假设某个已被发现的自然机制确实可以分离出生命所需的左手型氨基酸,但L型氨基酸如何与适当的链条(肽键)正确排列而形成蛋白质却仍是不解之谜。即便从完全是左手型氨基酸原液中获取单一的蛋白质的也是困难重重。

但是,让我们假设,不仅发现了一个可以分隔出生命所需要的左手型的自然机制,而且还发现了一种具有神秘力量的能形成蛋白质的汤。要形成一个活细胞需要数百的精确协调的蛋白质。我们还需要制造脱氧核糖核酸,核糖核酸,细胞膜,以及其它化学化合物主体 - 更不用说把它们安排在正确的位置来各司其职了。

自然发生说 — 结论
显然,从米勒—尤里的实验要得到一个没有任何物质过程指导产生的生命细胞,需要把一个不可能建立在另一个不可能之上。 基于这个原因,迪恩•凯尼恩正确地总结说:“这是一个大问题,你如何能从一片微小的原始海洋中收集到数百个不同的你所需的建立自我复制的循环系统的分子化合物。”

了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

进化论和化石记录
暗能量
寒武纪大爆发
化石记录
自然发生说
性的进化
化石记录的问题
共生现象
创造和进化
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 自然发生说 to My Google!
Add 自然发生说 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 自然发生说
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Abiogenesis

allaboutscience

Abiogenesis – A brief history
Even though Darwin himself focused on the origin of species, some scientists have tried to apply the concept of evolution to the first life to form the concept of abiogenesis. In 1924, Russian biochemist Alexander Oparin proposed that living cells arose gradually from nonliving matter through a sequence of chemical reactions. According to Oparin, gases present in the atmosphere of primitive earth, when induced by lightening or other sources of energy, would react to form simple organic compounds. These compounds would subsequently self-assemble into increasingly complex molecules such as proteins. These, in turn, would organize themselves into living cells.

In 1953, Stanley Miller and Harold Urey tested Oparin’s hypothesis by conducting an experiment that attempted to simulate the atmospheric conditions of primitive earth. In their experiment, water boiled into vapor at the bottom of a flask and then passed through an apparatus, combining with ammonia, methane, and hydrogen. They then subjected the resulting mixture to a 50,000-volt-spark before cooling and collecting it in a trap at the bottom of the apparatus. When Miller and Urey examined the resulting tar-like substance, they found a collection of amino acids, the building blocks of life.

Abiogenesis – The problems
Unfortunately Miller’s attempt to demonstrate the possibility of abiogenesis (that life can come from non-life) did not honestly simulate conditions on the primordial earth. For example, oxygen was evidently present on the early earth -- but the presence of oxygen prohibits the development of organic compounds. Even though we require an abundance of oxygen to survive, our bodies also need many special adaptations in order to manage it safely. In the 1950’s, origin-of-life researchers assumed that the early earth had very little oxygen. Geological evidence now suggests, however, that substantial quantities of oxygen were present in the earth’s earliest atmosphere. If the gases that scientists now believe were present on the early earth were to be used in the correct proportion, no such amino acids are produced.

But let us suppose that Miller’s experiment faithfully recreated conditions on the early earth, would the experiment be validated? A further major difficulty is that such experiments cannot produce the right kinds of amino acids. Amino acid conformations exist as mirror-isomers. In other words, there are left-handed (L-form) amino acids, as well as right-handed (D-form) amino acids. The amino acids that comprise living proteins are of the left-handed form, yet in simulations such as Miller’s, an equal mixture of left-handed and right-handed amino acids are produced. All known natural mechanisms by which amino acids are produced, produce amino acids in roughly the same proportion of right- and left-handed forms. But let us suppose that some naturalistic mechanism were discovered which could indeed segregate the left-handed forms needed for life. It would still remain inexplicable how the L-form amino acids became correctly ordered with the proper links (peptide bonds) to form proteins. The odds would still be stacked highly against obtaining even a single protein from a primordial soup made up of exclusively L-form amino acids.

But let us suppose that not only was a naturalistic mechanism discovered which could segregate the left-handed forms needed for life, but also a soup was discovered which possessed a mystical capacity to form proteins. To form a living cell requires hundreds of specialized proteins that need to be precisely coordinated. We would also need to produce DNA, RNA, a cell membrane, and a host of other chemical compounds -- not to mention arranging them into their correct locations to perform their respective functions.

Abiogenesis – Conclusion
Clearly to get from the Miller-Urey experiment to a living cell by unguided materialistic processes requires that improbabilities be stacked upon improbabilities. For this reason, Dean Kenyon rightly concludes: “It is an enormous problem, how you could get together in one tiny, sub-microscopic volume of the primitive ocean all of the hundreds of different molecular components you would need in order for a self-replicating cycle to be established.”

Learn More!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?