科学

科学

 
当前位置: 科学 >> 科学

科学 — 实证科学
长久以来人们赞颂科学是一项不受主观影响的事业,而这种主观性却是弥漫在宗教和道德哲学的各个方面。不断延续的固有文化模式是,科学提供的方法论主观地过滤那些被个人世界观或先验论所强加的数据的曲解。

这种科学观之所以赢得普遍欢迎,是因为公众对两种根本不同类型的科学探究的理解。

是什么让诸如疾病细菌理论,孟德尔遗传理论,牛顿运动定律,以及爱因斯坦的广义相对论等,通过实地的论证,而其他的理论则没有? 当然,所有上述理论都是关于目前自然现象的运转。这样的理论可以被查验来确定它是否符合实际。 换言之,实证科学,它包含了所有上述情况,可以通过一个与观测到的自然现象的实际运转方式的对比来验证。

这种实证科学的可能性就是为什么科学方法作为一个中立的世界观广受欢迎的原因,它完全摈弃了神学和哲学。科学理论,就实证科学而言,处理的是重复观测到的数据。

科学 — 历史的科学
除了关注目前自然现象活动规律的实证科学,还有对历史的科学的探索。不同于实证理论聚焦在当下,历史的理论则集中在过去发生的单一事件。当科学家试图为久远过去发生的事件给出充足的因果解释的时候,他们应用已知的原因产生了所指的效果。例如,如果要解释火山灰的存在,我们没有援引地震,因为地震从来没有被观察到产生火山灰,而火山喷发会。 这使得'火山喷发假说'成为最充分的因果关系来解释所说的火山灰的存在。

当涉及到解释某个自然中存在的模式时,我们解释的类别不尽相同。没人把罗塞塔石板上的文字或是拉什莫尔山的雕刻铭文归因为风蚀。 风蚀从未被观察到能够产生所说的影响。这种模式显示出的特性归因于智慧而非自然。

当然,这种方法在解决生物系统的问题时变得颇具争议。为什么会这样?从还原论者的角度看,上述现象只需要一个进化了的智慧的力量。对于已设计好的生物系统,它需要一个未进化的智能。 这最终归结为两个相左意见之间的本质冲突 - 有神论和还原论。 然而,细胞已被证实显示出大量特定的不规律性(‘信息’的同义词)。 如同自然法则一样,物质机制从来没有被证实具有产生此等特定的不规律性性的因果能力。在一致的重复的经验中,我们知道有一个且只有一个原因,它已被证明充分地解释了造成后果的因果关系,那就是智慧。

科学 — 神学:朋友还是敌人?
科学得以最终确定的某些事实可以影响神学的方方面面。例如,它可以决定,宇宙开始形成于过去有限的一点。它可确定生命系统的某些功能有可能是智能代理的产物。然而,涉及的智能代理的身份和本质问题是次要的,探询更适合于作为哲学和神学方面。

神学最终关注的是本体论 — 宇宙的存在是因为谁,或者什么?因此,关于本体论的问题不属于科学探究的问题。科学方法假定基本物理规律的统一性和一致性。因此,不经过循环的推理,它回答不了有关其来源的问题。

总之,神学和科学 — 尽管有关 — 本质上是两种类型的探询。尽管一个一定会影响到另一个,但却不可以被滥用来打压另一个。

科学 — 了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

DNA双螺旋结构
生命的起源
从猿到人
宇宙的微调
大爆炸理论
相对论
科学
科学方法
大型强子对撞机实验
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 科学 to My Google!
Add 科学 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 科学
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Science

allaboutscience

Science – The empirical sciences
Science has long been celebrated as an enterprise entirely immune to the subjectivity which pervades such disciplines as religion and moral philosophy. The frequently perpetuated cultural stereotype is that science provides a methodology that objectively filters out distortions which are impressed on the data by one’s personal worldview commitment or a priori ideology.

Such a view of science has gained widespread popularity because of a blending together in the public’s understanding of what are essentially two fundamentally different types of scientific enquiry.

What allows scientific theories such as the germ theory of disease, Mendel’s theory of heredity, Newton’s laws of motion, and Einstein’s theory of general relativity, to be empirically verified in a way in which certain other types of theories are not? All of the aforementioned theories, of course, are theories about the way in which natural phenomena operate in the present. Such theories can be checked by determining whether it corresponds to reality. In other words, empirical science, which encompasses all the above, can be verified by making a comparison with the way natural phenomena are actually observed to behave.

The possibility of such empirical verification is why the scientific methodology is widely celebrated as a worldview-neutral enterprise, completely devoid of theological or philosophical commitment. Scientific theories, as far as the empirical sciences are concerned, deals with repeatable observation.

Science – The historical sciences
Besides the empirical sciences, which concern the operation of natural phenomena in the present, there is also the enquiry of the historical sciences. Unlike the empirical theories which focus on things occurring in the present, historical theories focus on singular events in the past. When scientists attempt to identify the most causally adequate explanation for an event in the remote past, they invoke the cause known to produce the effect in question. For example, if one wants to explain the presence of volcanic ash, one does not invoke an earthquake, because earthquakes have never been observed to produce volcanic ash, whereas volcanic eruptions have been. This makes the ‘volcanic-eruption-hypothesis’ the most causally adequate explanation of the presence of the volcanic ash in question.

When it comes to explaining certain types of patterns that appear in nature, we have different categories of explanation. Nobody would think to attribute the inscriptions on the Rosetta stone, or the carvings on Mount Rushmore, to wind and erosion. Wind and erosion have never been observed to be able to produce the effects in question. Such patterns exhibit features which are best attributed to intelligent, not naturalistic, causation.

This methodology, of course, becomes somewhat more controversial when one is dealing with biological systems. Why? From a reductionist perspective, the phenomena described above require nothing more than the invocation of an evolved intelligence. For biological systems to have been designed, it would require an unevolved intelligence. This eventually boils down to a fundamental conflict between two opposing views -- theism and reductionism. Nonetheless, the cell has been demonstrated to exhibit large volumes of specified irregularity (a synonym for ‘information’). Law-like, material mechanisms have never been demonstrated to possess the causal capacity to account for such levels of specified irregularity. In our uniform and repeated experience, we know of one and only one cause, which has been demonstrated to be causally adequate to produce the effect in question, and that is intelligence.

Science – Theology: Friend or Foe?
Science can ultimately determine certain facts which can inform theological disciplines. It can determine, for example, that the universe began to exist at some point in the finite past. It can determine that certain features of living systems were likely the product of intelligent agency. Nonetheless, questions relating to the identity and nature of that intelligent agent are secondary questions, and enquiries better suited to such disciplines as philosophy and theology.

Theology is ultimately concerned with ontology -- to whom, or to what, does the universe owe its existence? Questions relating to ontology, therefore, are not matters of scientific enquiry. The scientific methodology presupposes uniformity in the fundamental physical laws and constants. It can thus not answer questions pertaining to their origin without reasoning in a circle.

In conclusion, theology and science -- though related -- are fundamentally two types of enquiry. While one can certainly inform the other, one may not be misused to trump the other.

Science - Learn More!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?