新蛋白质

新蛋白质

 - 细胞色素c
当前位置: 科学 >> 新蛋白质

新蛋白质 — 进化的驱动力?
现代新达尔文理论的基本假设之一是进化的基本原料是新蛋白质,其或多或少是DNA的错误复制,重组或辐射诱发的突变而随机产生的。赋予一个有利的基因表型的基因最终被选中,因而新的基因逐步增加,编码了新的蛋白质。重要的是,事先要明白一个DNA序列不能诱导可能带来有意义的变化的改变,这些有意义的变化对于一个基因的生存价值是必需的。现在看来,自然选择只能决定任何的功用或改进-换言之,自然选择可以决定适者生存,但不能决定适者的到来。

假定我们已经拥有了通过现有基因材料的突变来有效制造高分子的技术,那么我们获得一个有用的高分子的可能性有多少?这种可能性或许要有量的估算?当然,突变的有核酸中的核苷酸,其后被转录和翻译成蛋白质。不过让我们考虑一下构成蛋白质的氨基酸随机的排列顺序。这不仅更容易想出来,而且高估了只靠偶然来获取一个有用的多肽的可能性上犯错误。

新蛋白质 — 给进化论最终的致命一击
由随机突变产生出特定的适度长度的新蛋白质的可能性有多大?想想细胞色素c分子。细胞色素c是一个由约104个氨基酸组成的短蛋白质。它存在于大多数细胞中,并与ATP能量分子的生产有关。因为在原核生物和真核生物中都发现了细胞色素c,它常被认为从很早之前就已经演变,在最后普遍的共同祖先(LUCA)的存在之前。

但因为在自然选择发生之前就需要这样,通过随机排列的氨基酸顺序就产生出一个这样大小的蛋白质的几率是多少?这可以通过估计这样大小的蛋白质的潜在可能性的数量来计算,然后将其与演变进化过程中的结果进行比较。

如前所述,细胞色素c蛋白质中的氨基酸的数量约为104。有20种不同的氨基酸。这意味着可能的蛋白分子数为20104,或 2 x 10135(2后面是135个0!)。 相比较而言,宇宙中的原子数量被认为是 1080。 这意味着,即便是100个氨基酸长度的短蛋白质,其数量的可能性超过宇宙中原子数的1050

现在,让我们慷慨地估计一下有多少种可能已经被尝试过了。想想整个宇宙只由我们可以用来制造蛋白质的氨基酸构成。一个只有100个氨基酸长的蛋白质将载有至少1000个原子。因此,任何时候我们都会生产出1080/103 = 1077这么多序列的蛋白质。

现在我们想想,产生一个100个氨基酸长的蛋白质的时间大约是半分钟(多肽键形成的速度在每秒3至5倍)。不过从一开始就没有必要合成每一种新的多肽。一种新的氨基酸序列只需简单地改变一个或两个键即可生成(比如通过以一个氨基酸取代不同的另一个)。有理由认为,我们可以每秒尝试所有全新的1077个蛋白质。这当然是一个非常保守的估计,而且忽略了在翻译或转录一个基因中的更实际的耽搁。

我们已经有多少时间了? 即使按传统估计宇宙的实际年龄,比如说150亿年,我们总共就有1018 秒。 在这段时间里可以产生多少蛋白质? 如果我们用1077 乘以1018,我们可以预估的上限为1095

新蛋白质 — 完全不可能
关于新蛋白质生产的不可能性的计算说明了什么?即使我们可以采用宇宙全部的物质资源,不仅从宇宙之初就不断地循环,而且以合理构想的最快的速度,产生可能的组合的比例只有 1095/10135 = 1/1040 或10-40。因此,如果我们想随意生产104个氨基酸长的一个特定的蛋白质,甚至慷慨地假设上述所有情况,我们成功的机会会是1/1040

从上述中能够得出什么结论?我们不能依赖于随机突变产生特定的蛋白质。坦率地说,那些可能的资源并不在我们手上。数十亿年的地质历史之后它不再令人信服,甚至不用去理会生命有可能在数不胜数的其他星球进化。生产一个104个氨基酸长的新型蛋白质的几率微乎其微,更不用说大量的相互有特殊关联的相伴的蛋白质,进化死定了。

了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

进化
垃圾DNA
进化论
创造论和进化论
科学方法
化石记录的问题
性的进化
物种起源
共生现象
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 新蛋白质 to My Google!
Add 新蛋白质 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 新蛋白质
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

New Proteins

allaboutscience

New proteins – The driving force of evolution?
One of the foundational postulates of modern neo-Darwinian theory is that the basic raw materials of evolution are new proteins which are generated more or less at random by mutations induced by DNA miscopying, recombination or radiation. Genes which confer an advantageous phenotype are subsequently selected and hence new genes, encoding new proteins, are added incrementally. It is important to understand that a DNA sequence cannot, with foresight, induce changes that might bring about the meaningful changes that would be necessary for a gene to become of some survival value. Natural selection may only determine any utility or improvement in retrospect -- in other words, natural selection can determine the survival of the fittest, but not the arrival of the fittest.

What is the likelihood of obtaining a useful macromolecule assuming that we have the mechanisms in place for generating them efficiently through mutations of existing genetic material? May a quantitative estimate be placed on this probability? Mutations, of course, are of nucleotides in nucleic acids which are subsequently transcribed and translated into proteins. But let us consider instead the random ordering of amino acids to form proteins. This is not only easier to formulate, but also errs on the side of overestimating the probability of obtaining a useful polypeptide by chance alone.

New Proteins – The final death blow for evolution
What is the probability of the specific production of modestly-lengthed new proteins by random mutation? Consider the cytochrome c molecule. Cytochrome c is a short protein of around 104 amino acids. It is present in most cells and is connected with the production of the ATP energy molecule. Because it is found in both prokaryotes and eukaryotes, it is often thought to have evolved very early on, before the existence of the last universal common ancestor (LUCA).

But how likely is it that a protein of this size could have arisen by random ordering of amino acids, as it would have needed to before natural selection could have kicked in? This can be calculated by estimating the number of potential options there are for a protein of this size, and then comparing this with how many sequences might have been tried out in the course of evolution.

As mentioned, the number of amino acids in the cytochrome c protein is about 104. There are 20 different types of amino acids. This means that the number of possible protein molecules is 20104, or 2 x 10135 (2 followed by 135 zeros!). To put this into perspective, consider that the number of atoms in the universe is considered to be 1080. This implies that the number of possibilities for even a short protein just 100 amino acids long exceeds the number of atoms in the universe by a factor of 1050.

Let us now place an extremely generous estimate on how many alternatives might have been tried out. Consider that the entire universe was made up solely of amino acids that we could use to make proteins. A protein a mere 100 amino acids long would contain at least 1000 atoms. Thus, at any one time we could generate something of the order of 1080/103 = 1077 such proteins.

Now let us consider that the time it would take to produce a protein 100 amino acids long would be about half a minute (polypeptide bonds are formed at the rate of three to five times per second). It is not necessary, however, to synthesise each new polypeptide from scratch. A new amino acid sequence can be generated simply by changing a bond or two (e.g. by substituting one amino acid for a different one). It may be reasonable to suggest, then, that we could try a whole new batch of 1077 proteins every second. This, of course, is a very conservative estimate, and ignores the more realistic delay in translating/transcribing a gene.

How long have we got? Even taking the conventional estimate of the entire age of the universe as, say, 15 billion years old, we have a total of 1018 seconds to play with. What is the total number of proteins that could be generated in this time? If we multiply the 1077 by 1018, we can estimate the upper limit to be 1095.

New Proteins – Hopelessly improbable
What are the implications of this calculation concerning the shear improbability of the production of new proteins? Even if we could employ the total material resources of the universe, and cycle them not only continually since the beginning of the universe, but also as fast as is rationally conceivable, the proportion of the possible combinations that might be produced would have been only 1095/10135 = 1/1040 or 10-40. Thus, if we were attempting to produce a specific 104 amino acid-long protein at random, our chance of success would be of the order of 1 in 1040, even generously assuming all of the above.

What can we conclude from all of this? We cannot depend on random mutations to produce specific proteins. The probabilistic resources are, frankly, not at our disposal. It is no longer tenable to hind behind billions of years of geological history, not even given the argument that life could have evolved on an astronomical number of other planets. With the improbabilities of producing even a specific 104-amino-acid long novel protein so slim, let alone the myriads of accompanying proteins which are engaged in highly specific interrelatedness, evolution is dead in the water.

Learn More!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?