性的进化

性的进化

 
当前位置: 科学 >> 性的进化

性的演变 — 窘境
性的起源以及随后的维持和重组,是个用达尔文的进化论不易解释的现象。自然选择这样的进化机制,无法揭示为何有机体要放弃无性繁殖而钟爱成本更高,更无效的有性繁殖。在格雷厄姆•贝尔的著作《大自然的杰作:遗传与性的演变》中,他描述下列方式中的困境:

    “性是生物进化问题的精髓。 也许没有任何其他的自然现象能引起人们如此的兴趣;当然也没有什么造成了如此的混乱。达尔文和孟德尔对此的见解,虽然揭开了众多的谜团,至今却未能给性这个中心奥秘带来一丝摇曳的光亮,反而由于处境孤立,凸显了它的含混不清。“

性的演变 — 向有性生殖的过渡
大多数单细胞有机体是无性繁殖。无性繁殖是从只有一个亲本细胞形成新个体,没有配子形成,也没有同一物种另一成员的受精。如果地球上的生命都源于这些单细胞生物,那么为什么无性繁殖这种简单而高效的方法被有性繁殖所取代?

性为什么存在? 卡尔•齐默在他的著作《进化:一个观念的胜利》中承认:

    “性不仅是不必要的,而且应该是一个进化的灾难。一方面,它是一个低效的繁殖方法...而且性还要付出其他的代价,...有理由相信,任何演变成有性繁殖的动物种群都应即刻输给无性的种群。然而,性占了上风...为什么性成功了,尽管它有不利?“
从进化生物学的角度来看,性毫无疑问是‘一种低效的繁殖方式’。想想看性活动需的所有的东西,包括繁殖中DNA携带信息的复杂性。从进化的角度来看,性可以被视为荒谬。但是,从设计的观点来看,一点不令人惊奇!

除了与罕见的有益和有害的突变相连的困难,有害突变的困难更多些以外,两种不同类型的细胞分裂(有丝分裂和减数分裂)还存在一个问题。有丝分裂过程中,所有的染色体复制并通过细胞从亲本细胞传到子细胞。相反,减数分裂只发生于有性细胞(即精子和卵子)。在后一种复制过程中,只有一半的染色体物质被复制并传递给后代。减数分裂的结果是产生了父母基因的全新组合,所有这些都是独特的基因型。这些反过来产生了独特的显型,为自然选择的过程提供了无尽的新材料。

正是那些事实(减数分裂据称进化出把染色体个数减少一半的能力-但仅限于配子-还有,它可以提供无限的新材料),使得减数分裂过程令人难以置信。减数分裂的机制对于有性繁殖是至关重要的。然而,减数分裂的性据说是从5亿2前万年前演变的。10亿年前进行性进化的细菌怎会如此的稳定,然后在稳定了5亿2千万年以后,变异成足以‘进化’成痛苦的减数分裂的过程?

迄今为止,进化生物学家一直未能拿出一个足以解释体细胞通过有丝分裂繁殖(从而保持物种每个细胞内标准的染色体数目)的说法,而配子是由减数分裂产生的-其中的染色体数目减半,这样在雌雄配子结合时,恢复标准的数目。

性的演变 — 结论
性的起源对于那些致力于现实的纯唯物观点的人而言,仍然是个谜-更不用说使性成为可能的难以置信的复杂的减数分裂的起源,或胚胎的复杂的发育过程(这本身就是一个工程奇迹)。在概念上,遗传自精子的染色体与遗传自卵子的染色体相配对从而给予新生命充分的染色体的补充。博物学家要我们相信,这一切的发生没有任何指导,产生了这个相互依存的不平凡的过程:(1)减半遗传信息;(2)通过有性繁殖重组。 这样一个精密的机制不仅对精子或卵子细胞通过减数分裂结合是必需的,而且另一个同样复杂的工序在受精过程中加入了遗传信息,以产生合子(之后将发育成胚胎)。相信纯物质过程,受控于机会法则,有可能产生超越了合理限度的轻信。

了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

共选
查尔斯•达尔文
暗能量
科学方法
达尔文的进化论
查尔斯•达尔文
垃圾DNA
人类进化
RNA世界
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 性的进化 to My Google!
Add 性的进化 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 性的进化
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Evolution of Sex

allaboutscience

Evolution of Sex – The dilemma
The origin and subsequent maintenance of sex and recombination is a phenomena not easily explained by Darwinian evolution. Evolutionary mechanisms such as natural selection are not able to reveal why organisms should abandon asexual reproduction in favor of more costly and inefficient sexual reproduction. In his book, “The Masterpiece of Nature: The Evolution of Genetics and Sexuality”, Graham Bell described the dilemma in the following manner:

    “Sex is the queen of problems in evolutionary biology. Perhaps no other natural phenomenon has aroused so much interest; certainly none has sowed as much confusion. The insights of Darwin and Mendel, which have illuminated so many mysteries, have so far failed to shed more than a dim and wavering light on the central mystery of sexuality, emphasizing its obscurity by its very isolation.”

Evolution of Sex – The move to sexual reproduction
Most single-celled organisms reproduce asexually. Asexual reproduction is the formation of new individuals from cells of only one parent, without gamete formation or fertilization by another member of the species. If life on earth is derived entirely from these single-celled creatures then why was this simple-yet-efficient method of asexual reproduction set aside in favor of sexual reproduction?

Why does sex exist? In his book “Evolution: The Triumph of an Idea,” Carl Zimmer concedes:

    “Sex is not only unnecessary, but it ought to be a recipe for evolutionary disaster. For one thing, it is an inefficient way to reproduce…And sex carries other costs as well…By all rights, any group of animals that evolves sexual reproduction should be promptly outcompeted by nonsexual ones. And yet sex reigns… Why is sex a success, despite all its disadvantages?”
From the perspective of evolutionary biology, sex is without question ‘an inefficient way to reproduce.’ Consider all that the sexual process entails, including the complexity involved in reproducing the information carried within the DNA. From an evolutionary point of view, sex would be considered an absurdity. Yet from a design point of view, it is nothing short of incredible!

Besides the difficulties associated with the sheer rarity of beneficial mutations and their much-more frequent cousins, the harmful deleterious mutations, there is the added problem related to the two different types of cell division (mitosis and meiosis). During mitosis, all of the chromosomes are copied and passed on from the parent cell to the daughter cells. Conversely, meiosis occurs only in sex cells (i.e. sperm and eggs). During the latter type of replication, only half of the chromosomal material is copied and passed on to the subsequent generation. Meiosis results in the production of completely new combinations of the parental genes, all of them uniquely different genotypes. These, in turn, produce unique phenotypes, providing unlimited new material for the process of natural selection.

It is those very facts (that meiosis has allegedly evolved the ability to halve the chromosome count -- but only for gametes -- and that it can actually provide unlimited new material) which make the meiotic process so incredible. The mechanism of meiosis is critical for sexual reproduction. Yet meiotic sex is alleged to have evolved 520 million years ago. How could the bacteria that are supposed to be responsible for the evolution of sex have stabilized a billion years ago, and then 500 million years after the stabilization, mutate enough to ‘evolve’ the painstaking process of meiosis?

As yet, evolutionary biologists have been unable to come up with a single adequate explanation as to how somatic cells reproduce by mitosis (thereby maintaining the species’ standard chromosome number in each cell), while gametes are produced by meiosis -- wherein that chromosome number is halved so that, at the union of the male and female gametes during reproduction, the standard number is reinstated.

Evolution of Sex – Conclusion
The origin of sex remains a mystery for those committed to a purely materialistic view of reality -- not to mention the origin of the incredibly complex meiotic process that makes sex possible, or the intricate development of the embryo (which is itself an engineering marvel). At conception, the chromosomes inherited from the sperm are paired with the chromosomes inherited from the egg to give the new organism its full chromosomal complement. Naturalists would have us believe that undirected occurrences brought about this marvelously interdependent process of (1) halving the genetic information; (2) recombining it through sexual reproduction. Not only is such a sophisticated mechanism required for the production of a sperm or egg cell via meiosis, but another equally intricate process also joins the genetic information during fertilization in order to produce the zygote (which will later become the embryo). To believe that purely materialistic processes, governed by the laws of chance, could have produced such a mechanism stretches credulity beyond reasonable limits.

Learn More!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?