道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演

道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演

 
当前位置: 科学 >> 道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演

道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演 — 进化的证据?
理查德•道金斯的《地球上最伟大的表演》,希望能传达和证明一些使他接受达尔文的物种起源的证据。道金斯也是《上帝的错觉 》这本书的作者并且很可能是当今最有名的达尔文的拥护者。在他的新书中,道金斯延续了他编故事的传奇的声誉。

那么理查德•道金斯的论点如何有力?他是否提出了什么新的东西?如果仔细审视的话,他的主张是否站得住脚?理查德•道金斯显然是这样认为的。道金斯在他书中标题为‘只有理论?’的第一章中写到:

    进化是一个事实。不容合理的,严肃的,理智的,有根据,智慧的怀疑,毋庸置疑,进化是一个事实。进化的证据至少和大屠杀的证据一样有力,纵使大屠杀有目击证人。这是明摆着的事实,我们是黑猩猩的堂兄弟,关系稍远的猴子的表兄弟,关系更远的土豚和海牛的亲戚,还是再远些的香蕉和萝卜的亲戚...这份名单要多长有多长。并不一定真的是这样。它不是不言而喻的,冗赘的,明显的事实,而且有很长一段时间,大多数甚至是受过教育的人都认为它不是事实。它不必是真实的,但它是。我们知道这是因为不断涌现的证据支持了它。进化是一个事实,本书将证明这一点。没有知名的科学家质疑它,没有客观的读者会因为怀疑它而合上本书。
当然,人们不禁要问,理查德•道金斯认为要多少次重复他书中的核心观点才能使其合理化。
    理查德•道金斯进一步说:
    ...想像你是一个近代史老师,你的20世纪欧洲史课受到抵制... 被否认大屠杀的政治集团抵制。今天很多科学教师的处境没那么恐怖。当他们试图阐述生物学的核心原则时,他们受到困扰,阻碍和攻击。
这种教条式的言论和对人不对事的攻击充分表明了道金斯的论证水平。然而,应该指出的是没有人批评达尔文主义是为了寻求禁止进化的概念-连一般的贬低也不是-就学术环境而言。相反,大多数评论家会说,对达尔文主义-尚没有定论-批评的意义在于应该说其尚未定论而不是不加批判地传授它。理查德•道金斯却声称的批评者想要破坏公共教育系统是一种歪曲。

道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演 — 生命的起源
在《地球上最伟大的表演》中,理查德•道金斯很少说到标准的唯物思想,即生命的起源的问题,遇到的最根本挑战。在第13章中,他写道:

    我们没有关于生命产生的第一步的证据,但我们知道那是什么样的第一步。它是启动自然 选择的一步。在这一步之前,任何自然选择才能获得的改进都是不可能的。而且那意味着关键的一步是通过我们未知的过程实现自我复制的实体的出现。
道金斯忽视或忽略了许多关键点。正如道金斯本人承认的那样,自然选择只能发生在能自我繁殖或复制的生物身上。但无疑任何自我复制的机制必须表现出可定义的最低水平的复杂性,更不用说功能上的必要,特殊的DNA序列和蛋白质分子。正如理论生物学家霍华德•帕蒂在《生物等级的问题》中解释的:“没有证据表明遗传进化发生在除细胞内的其他地方,它们已经拥有...DNA,复制和翻译的酶,以及所有的控制系统和要复制自己的结构。”为了求助一个能够解释DNA特定信息来源的自然途径,自然主义者必须调用一个依赖于先前存在的特殊DNA分子序列的程序。不过,这些分子的起源正是本文试图去解释的。别忘了,它不仅是构成DNA信息的碱基对的序列,在这一点上这是关键-而且当面临矛盾的遗传密码本身的起源时,这个问题就变得更为深刻。

道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演 — RNA世界
接下来,道金斯在《地球上最伟大的表演》中,概述了经典的DNA和蛋白质的关系的“第22条军规”。 他写道:

    生命起源的“第22条军规”就是这样。DNA可以复制,但它需要酶来推动这一进程。蛋白质能催化脱氧核糖核酸的形成,但它们需要脱氧核糖核酸来指令正确的氨基酸序列。早期地球的分子如何能打破这一束缚从而启动自然选择?
道金斯如何试图解开这个谜团?他接着写道:
    现在说说生命起源的‘核糖核酸世界理论’。除了以一种适合传递序列信息的形式延伸,核糖核酸也能够自我组装...形成有酶的活动的三维形状。核糖核酸酶确实存在。它们不像蛋白酶那样高效,但它们确实工作。核糖核酸世界理论表明核糖核酸这种酶好到足以维持到蛋白质进化并接管酶的工作,而且它还扮演一个很好复制器的角色直到DNA进化形成。
奇怪的是,理查德•道金斯在《地球上最伟大表演》中并没有花时间试图回应大量的对于RNA在先的模型的批评。例如,第一个RNA分子的形成必须要有之前更小的分子的出现,包括核糖,磷酸盐分子和四个核糖核酸的核苷酸基。但合成和保持这些重要的核糖核酸分子(特别是核糖)和碱基是相当困难的,但在真实的生命起源的条件下进行并不是不可能。

此外,自然发生的核糖核酸分子具有很少的蛋白质酶的性质。核酶只能执行极少数的数以千计的蛋白质职能。核糖核酸分子无法履行蛋白质酶的功能就提出了又一个与核糖核酸存在在先的模型相关的问题。迄今为止,还没有人能令人信服地解释原始的自我复制的核糖核酸如何过渡到现代分子系统,这个系统高度依赖大量的蛋白质来处理遗传信息。想想从原始的复制过渡到产生第一个蛋白质的系统。即使这样一个产生蛋白质的核酶系统来自核糖核酸的复制,这个分子系统仍然需要信息丰富的模板来生产特定的蛋白质。到目前为止,还没有这样唯物的途径,通过它能够随时产生特定的信息。

阅读 道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演 Page 2


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

多元宇宙
查尔斯•达尔文
RNA世界
创造论和进化论
科学方法
化石记录
共生现象
人类进化
垃圾DNA
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演 to My Google!
Add 道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Dawkins: The Greatest Show on Earth

allaboutscience

Dawkins: The Greatest Show on Earth – The Evidence for Evolution?
Richard Dawkins', The Greatest Show on Earth, hopes to convey and document some of the evidence which compels him to embrace a Darwinian perspective on origins. Dawkins is also author of The God Delusion and probably today’s best known Darwinian apologist. Dawkins, in his new book lives up to his legendary reputation of creative tale-telling.

Just how strong are Richard Dawkins’ arguments? Does he present anything new? Do his claims stand up when subjected to careful scrutiny? Richard Dawkins clearly thinks so. In chapter 1 of his book, entitled Only a theory? Dawkins remarks:

    Evolution is a fact. Beyond reasonable doubt, beyond serious doubt, beyond sane, informed, intelligent doubt, beyond doubt evolution is a fact. The evidence for evolution is at least as strong as the evidence for the Holocaust, even allowing for eye witnesses to the Holocaust. It is the plain truth that we are cousins of chimpanzees, somewhat more distant cousins of monkeys, more distant cousins still of aardvarks and manatees, yet more distant cousins of bananas and turnips…continue the list as long as desired. That didn’t have to be true. It is not self-evidently, tautologically, obviously true, and there was a time when most people, even educated people, thought it wasn’t. It didn’t have to be true, but it is. We know this because a rising flood of evidence supports it. Evolution is a fact, and this book will demonstrate it. No reputable scientist disputes it, and no unbiased reader will close the book doubting it.
One wonders, of course, how many times Richard Dawkins believes that he has to rephrase the core contention of his book in order to legitimise it!

Richard Dawkins further remarks:
    …Imagine you are a teacher of recent history, and your lessons on 20th century Europe are boycotted…by politically muscular groups of Holocaust deniers. The plight of many science teachers today is not less dire. When they attempt to expound the central principle of biology they are harried and stymied, hassled and bullied.
Such dogmatic rhetoric and ad-hominen name-calling is highly indicative of the level of Dawkins’ argumentation. Nonetheless, it should be noted that no critic of Darwinism seeks the outlawing of the concept of evolution -- or even common descent -- from the academic environment. Rather, most critics would argue that the significant criticisms of Darwinism -- which are, as yet, without resolution -- should be referenced such that Darwinism is not taught in an uncritical fashion. Richard Dawkins’ claim, then, that critics want to torpedo the public education system is a simple point of misrepresentation.

Dawkins: The Greatest Show on Earth – The Origin of Life
Richard Dawkins, in The Greatest Show on Earth, has very little to say concerning the most fundamental challenge to standard materialistic thinking, namely the problem of life’s origin. In chapter 13 of his book, Dawkins writes:

    We have no evidence about what the first step in making life was, but we do know the kind of step it must have been. It must have been whatever it took to get natural selection started. Before that first step, the sorts of improvement that only natural selection can achieve were impossible. And that means the key step was the rising, by some process as yet unknown, of a self-replicating entity.
Dawkins is overlooking or ignoring a host of key points here. As Dawkins himself concedes, natural selection can only occur in organisms which are capable of reproducing or replicating themselves. But surely any self-replicating mechanism must exhibit a definable minimal level of complexity, let alone the necessitude of functional, and thus sequence specific DNA and protein molecules. As theoretical biologist Howard Pattee explains in his The Problem of Biological Hierarchy: “There is no evidence that hereditary evolution occurs except in cells which already have…the DNA, the replicating and translating enzymes, and all the control systems and structures necessary to reproduce themselves.” In order to invoke a materialistic pathway which can account for the origin of specified information in DNA, the naturalist must invoke a process that itself depends upon pre-existing sequence specific DNA molecules. Yet, the origin of these molecules is precisely what the thesis seeks to explain. And let us not forget that it is not merely the sequence of base-pairs comprising the information in DNA which is the chief concern at this point -- but the problem becomes even deeper when confronted with the paradox of the origin of the genetic code itself.

Dawkins: The Greatest Show on Earth – RNA world
Dawkins, The Greatest Show on Earth, proceeds to outline the classic Catch-22 paradox which concerns the relationship of DNA to proteins. He writes:

    The ‘Catch-22’ of the origin of life is this. DNA can replicate, but it needs enzymes in order to catalyse the process. Proteins can catalyse DNA formation, but they need DNA to specify the correct sequence of amino acids. How could the molecules of the Early Earth break out of this bind and allow natural selection to get started?
How does Dawkins attempt to resolve this enigma? He continues:
    Now for the key point of the ‘RNA World theory’ of the origin of life. In addition to stretching out in a form suitable for passing on sequence information, RNA is also capable of self-assembling…into three-dimensional shapes which have enzymatic activity. RNA enzymes do exist. They are not as efficient as protein enzymes, but they do work. The RNA World theory suggests that RNA was good enough enzyme to hold the fort until proteins evolved to take over the enzyme role, and that RNA was also a good enough replicator to muddle along in that role until DNA evolved.
Curiously, Richard Dawkins spends no time in The Greatest Show on Earth attempting to address the numerous criticisms of the RNA-first model. For example, the formation of the first RNA molecule would have necessitated the prior emergence of smaller constituent molecules, including ribose sugar, phosphate molecules and the four RNA nucleotide bases. But both synthesising and maintaining these essential RNA molecules (particularly ribose) and the nucleotide bases is profoundly problematic, if not impossible to perform under realistic prebiotic conditions.

Further, naturally occurring RNA molecules possess very few of the specific enzymatic properties of proteins. Ribozymes can perform a small handful of the thousands of functions performed by proteins. The inability of RNA molecules to perform many of the functions of protein enzymes raises a third and related concern with regard to the tenability of the RNA-first model. To date, no plausible explanation has been advanced as to how primitive self-replicating RNA molecules could have made the transition into modern cellular systems which depend heavily on a variety of proteins to process genetic information. Consider the transition from a primitive replicator to a system for building the first proteins. Even if such a system of ribozymes for building proteins had arisen from an RNA replicator, that system of molecules would still require information-rich templates for building specific proteins. To date, there is no materialistic pathway by which specified information can be readily produced.

Read Dawkins: The Greatest Show on Earth Page 2 Now!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?