道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演

道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演

 
当前位置: 科学 >> 道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演 2
(首先阅读第一部分 道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演)

道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演 — 理查德•道金斯如何应对寒武纪的爆发?
值得称赞的是,道金斯在《 地球上最伟大的表演》这本书的一章中,的确为被称为“寒武纪爆炸”的地质事件给出了一个合理详细的评论(奇怪的是,这个现象在很多流行的达尔文主义作品中都被略去了),这一章的主题是“缺失的环节?-‘缺失’是什么意思?”。理查德•道金斯提到了扁形虫动物门中著名的页状软体涡虫:

    这个了不起的门类的蠕虫包括寄生吸虫和绦虫,它们具有重要的医学意义。不过我最喜欢的还是自由生活的涡虫,它们总共有有超过4000种之多,是所有的哺乳动物物种的总和...它们很常见,水里和地上都有,大概已经存在了很长的时间。因而你会期待看到丰富的化石历史记录。不幸的是,几乎什么都没有。除了少数模糊不清的化石,还没找到一块扁形虫化石。扁形动物门,对于蠕虫来说,’在它们首次出现的时候,已经是进化的高级阶段。就好像它们事先就在那,没有任何进化的历史。’但在这种情况下,‘它们首次出现'不是在寒武纪而是今天。你知道这对创世论者意味着什么,或者至少应该意味着什么? 创世论者认为,页状软体涡虫与其他所有生物是在同一周被创造。因此,它们和所有其他动物有完全相同的时间来变成化石。多少世纪以来,当所有的有骨或有壳类动物与它们一道留存时,岩石中却没有留下任何它们存在的重要证据。那么成为化石的这些动物的记录的间断有什么特殊之处,就算涡虫过去的历史是一个空白:即使蠕虫,按照创世论者的描述,一直生活在同样的时间段?如果寒武纪爆炸之前的间断作为大多数动物在寒武纪突然出现的证据,那么用同样的‘逻辑’可以证明辑扁形虫是昨天出现的。然而,这与创世论者认为扁形虫与其他一切都是在创世这一周被创造是相矛盾的。你不能两者兼得。这个论证一下子完全击毁了了创世的例子,即寒武纪之前化石记录的中断削弱了进化的证据。
同样,理查德•道金斯没有抓住化石记录的要点。在审查道金斯的论点的根本谬误之前,让我们花一点时间来考虑上述文字的神学意义。神学的论点,就其本质而言-不能作为一个科学的声明而得到辩护,因此在关于进化的科学讨论中没有一席之地。道金斯这本书的副标题是‘进化的证据’。因而应该没有任何必要通过诉诸于跟神学有关的思考来支持达尔文主义。地球的年龄和创世的正确解释是基督教徒之间的激烈辩论的话题-即使在创世论者之间。虽然我确实认为这是一个很有趣(而且重要!)的问题,它不应该在进化的科学证据的科学论证中起重要的作用。此外,把所有的‘创世论者’归为一类是一种误导。

撇开这一点不说,让我们谈谈理查德•道金斯对寒武纪大爆发的理解。首先,即使我们认可他的前提-即寒武纪前的生物具有不能化石化的构造(这是可能的)-这不是我们要说的关键。事实上,可以预料,无法形成骷髅的先前的生物如果有化石的话留下的也应该不多。因此,如果情况是这样的话,一个不断进化的种群应该突然出现在化石记录中,一旦进入可以化石化的阶段,那么道金斯这一点可能说对了。但是,寒武纪大爆炸的真正挑战是或多或少的在同一地质时期出现的形式多种多样的化石。每一个门类都有现代生物的代表-当然,所有那些在化石中存在的-都包括在内,但任何一个都没有能明确识别的祖先。这是在解释那些同时和忽然出现的生物,这是生物学进化史的一个主要挑战。

道金斯在这里的观点绝不是他的原创。有趣的是,过去的一个半世纪以来,自从达尔文的《物种起源》出版,古生物学家发现了许多寒武纪前的化石,其中许多是很小或是软体的。就像达尔文主义的古生物学家威廉•绍夫在他的作品《生命的早期演化:解决达尔文的困境》中所说的,“长期以来人们的观念,即前寒武纪生物一定非常微小或脆弱以致无法保存在地质材料中... 这在现在已被视为是不正确的。”总之,主要动物门类的突然出现,传统上要追溯到约540万年前,现在比在达尔文时代得到更好的证明。事实上,随着越来越多的化石被发现,寒武纪大爆炸比以前想象的来得更突然、范围更广,这点已经越来越明确。

最后,达尔文主义的批评者不必指向化石记录作为对达尔文信仰的最有力的决定性的打击。道金斯随意用了一个临时的假设,试图去为关键问题上化石记录的中断和提出的挑战做辩解。然而,事实仍然是,化石记录根本不能用来证明任何有关所有生命形式的共同的血统-这是新达尔文主义的两个的核心之一。否则,这样的声明就是在做循环推理。

道金斯: 地球上最伟大的表演 — 夸大和渲染
理查德•道金斯的《地球上最伟大的表演》,详细解释了进化是如何发生在“我们眼前”的。他提到了著名的大肠杆菌的复制,作为我们可以模拟的‘神秘时间'的途径。他指出,虽然蜥蜴经历约两年一代的周期,细菌的一代则以小时甚至分钟计算。他提到密歇根大学教授理查德•伦斯基的实验,在这个实验中培养了12个相同种类的大肠杆菌,结果培养出超过44,000代(20年后)。这种细菌生长在一个有少量葡萄糖(一个大肠杆菌基本的碳源)和大量柠檬酸盐(一个大肠杆菌不常用的碳源)的环境中。每500代,伦斯基就会采取一次细菌样本,这些样本-如道金斯所说-在本质上产生了不同种类的样本‘化石记录’。伦斯基观察大肠杆菌在适应他的实验室环境下发生的许多变化。虽然细菌比以前健康了,但它也带来一定的损失。例如,所有种类都失去了代谢核糖的能力。一些种类失去了修复DNA的能力。这些细菌可能更适合实验室环境,当被放回它们自己的生长环境和那些野生的细菌同伴一起时,它们将会有选择上的劣势。

道金斯接着解释说,在第31,500代时,一种大肠杆菌被发现可以利用柠檬酸。之前《细菌学杂志》上的研究表明,野生型的大肠杆菌在氧气水平很低的情况下可以利用柠檬酸。在这些条件下,柠檬酸被吸收进细胞并以一种发酵的方式被利用。大肠杆菌的被认为编码了一个柠檬酸盐运输器(一种把柠檬酸盐运输到细胞的蛋白质)。在高浓度氧气存在的情况下,柠檬酸盐运输器不起作用或生产不出来,即便保留了使用柠檬酸盐必要的酶。因此,就像所发生的那样,野生型大肠杆菌 已经拥有把柠檬酸盐运送至细胞,进而使用它所必要的基因。

那么,什么最能解释道金斯记录在《地球上最伟大的表演》中他所观察到现象呢?正如伦斯基自己在他2008年提交给《美国科学院院报》,题为:“历史的偶然和埃希氏大肠杆菌实验种群关键变革的进化”的论文(105页,第23期)中提出的,“在我们看来,更为可能的是,高氧水平下,一个现存的运输器被指派来运送柠檬酸盐。”他认为,这可能是低氧条件下使用的相同的柠檬酸盐运输器,或者实际上是另一个已被修改来运输柠檬酸盐基质的运输器。前者意味着常规的消失,而后者则意味着特性的消失。

道金斯:在地球上最伟大的表演 — 理查德道金斯是否有证据?
理查德•道金斯在整本书中延续着他的徒劳。卫报刊登的一篇称赞道金斯新作的书评说,虽然《地球上最伟大的表演》 “再次展现了[道金斯]作为讲解员的精湛的技巧”,书中所涵盖的科学大多重述了“相当标准的东西。” 这本书未能解决日益增多的生物信息,生命起源,自然选择和时机突变如何解释不能简化的复杂系统等问题,这些一直与他宣扬的达尔文主义相对抗。达尔文称《物种起源》是他的理论的‘一个长长的论证',但理查德•道金斯给了我们一个很长的假象。《地球上最伟大的表演》试图为新达尔文主义辩护,通过神学的争论,用临时猜想的方式试图为寒武纪大爆炸面临的挑战辩解,夸大自然选择的可能性的证据,歪曲设计论观点,摧毁‘稻草人’并避免提及达尔文起源模型最危险的威胁。

实际证据表明,化石记录和细胞生物学的主要特点令达尔文进化论处境尴尬。以实验科学的一般标准来衡量,用来支撑新达尔文主义的数据没有说服力。今天我们知道有很多关键事实给这一理论传统的理解以重击。这些并不是一些微不足道的小问题,也不是有可能得以解决的异常现象,而是似乎没有解决前景的重要的问题。

了解更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

DNA复制
性的进化
进化论和化石记录
化石记录的问题
化石记录
物种起源
进化的证据
RNA世界
垃圾DNA
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演 to My Google!
Add 道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 道金斯:地球上最伟大的表演
科学 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2014 AllAboutScience.org, 保留所有权利。

Dawkins: The Greatest Show on Earth

allaboutscience
(Read Dawkins: The Greatest Show on Earth Part 1 First)

Dawkins: The Greatest Show on Earth – How Does Richard Dawkins deal with the Cambrian explosion?
To Dawkins’ credit in The Greatest Show on Earth, he does provide a reasonably detailed commentary on the geological incident known as the “Cambrian Explosion” (a phenomenon which is curiously omitted in many popular Darwinian texts) in his chapter on “The Missing Link? – What do you mean, ‘missing’?”. Richard Dawkins makes reference to the famous flatworms known as the Platyhelminthes:

    This great phylum of worms includes the parasitic flukes and tapeworms, which are of great medical importance. My favourites, however, are the free-living tubellarian worms, of which there are more than four thousand species; that’s about as numerous as all the mammal species put together…They are common, both in water and on land, and presumably have been common for a very long time. You’d expect, therefore, to see a rich fossil history. Unfortunately, there is almost nothing. Apart from a handful of ambiguous trace fossils, not a single fossil flatworm has ever been found. The Platyhelminthes, to a worm, are ‘already in an advanced state of evolution, the very first time they appear. It is as though they were just planted there, without any evolutionary history.’ But in this case, ‘the very first time they appear’ is not the Cambrian but today. Do you see what this means, or at least ought to mean for creationists? Creationists believe that flatworms were created in the same week as all other creatures. They have therefore had exactly the same time in which to fossilise as all other animals. During all the centuries when all those bony or shelly animals were depositing happily alongside them, but without leaving any significant trace of their presence in the rocks. What, then, is so special about gaps in the record of these animals that do fossilise, given that the past history of the flatworms amounts to one big gap: even though the flatworms, by the creationists’ own account, have been living for the same length of time? If the gap before the Cambrian Explosion is used as evidence that most animals suddenly sprang into existence in the Cambrian, exactly the same ‘logic’ should be used to prove that the flatworms sprang into existence yesterday. Yet this contradicts the creationist’s belief that flatworms were created during the same creative week as everything else. You cannot have it both ways. This argument, at a stroke, completely destroys the creationist case that the Precambrian gap in the fossil record weakens the evidence for evolution.
Again, Richard Dawkins is missing the point with regards to the fossil record. Before examining the underlying fallacy of Dawkins’ argument, let us take a moment to consider the theological undertones in the above text. Theological arguments -- by their very nature -- cannot be defended as a scientific statement, and thus ought to be given no place in scientific discussions regarding evolution. The subtitle of Dawkins’ book is The Evidence for Evolution. There should be no need, therefore, to prop up Darwinism by appealing to theologically-related considerations. The age of the earth and the proper interpretation of Genesis is the subject of heated debate among Christians -- even among creationists. While I do believe that this is a very interesting (and important!) issue, it should not be featuring in scientific discourses concerning the scientific evidence relating to evolution. Moreover, to categorically place all ‘creationists’ in the same category is misleading.

Leaving that point aside, let us turn to Richard Dawkins’ understanding of the Cambrian explosion. First, even if we were to grant him his premise -- namely, the contention that organisms prior to the Cambrian were of a non-fossilisable composition (which is plausible) -- this is not the point in question. Indeed, it is to be expected that non-skeletonized predecessors ought to leave few if any fossils. If it were the case, therefore, that one evolving line appeared suddenly in the fossil record, once it reached the stage of being fossilizable, then Dawkins might have a point here. But the real challenge of the Cambrian explosion is the wide variety of fossilizable forms which appeared at more or less the same instant in geological time. Every single phyla represented by modern day organisms -- certainly all those with fossilizable parts -- were included, yet for none is there any clearly identifiable ancestor. It is explaining the simultaneous and abrupt appearance of those which is one of the leading challenges in evolutionary biology.

Dawkins’ argument here is by no means original. Interestingly, over the last century and a half since the publication of Darwin’s Origin of Species, paleontologists have discovered many Precambrian fossils, many of them microscopic or soft-bodied. As Darwinian paleobiologist William Schopf wrote in his The early evolution of life: solution to Darwin’s dilemma, “The long-held notion that Precambrian organisms must have been too small or too delicate to have been preserved in geological materials…[is] now recognised as incorrect.” If anything, the abrupt appearance of the major animal phyla, conventionally dated to about 540 million years ago, is better documented now that in Darwin’s time. Indeed, as more fossils are discovered it becomes clear that the Cambrian explosion was even more abrupt and extensive than previously envisioned.

Finally, the critic of Darwinism need not point to the fossil record as the most compelling decisive blow to Darwinian orthodoxy. Dawkins is free to invoke ad-hoc hypothesis in an attempt to explain away the gaps and challenges presented by the fossil record at the most crucial points. Nonetheless, the fact remains that the fossil record simply cannot be used to document anything relating to the common descent of all life forms -- which is one of the two central claims of neo-Darwinism. To state otherwise is to engage in circular reasoning.

Dawkins: The Greatest Show on Earth – Exaggerations and overstatements
Richard Dawkins' The Greatest Show on Earth, explains in great detail how evolution has occurred “before our very eyes”. He makes reference to the replication of the well-known bacterium E. coli as a means by which we can simulate ‘deep time’. He notes that while lizards experience a generation turnover period of about two years, bacterial generations are measured in hours, or even minutes. He points to Michigan professor Richard Lenski’s experiment where 12 identical lines of E. coli were cultured to over 44,000 generations (20 years later). The bacteria were grown in a medium which had a small amount of glucose (a primary carbon source for E. coli) and abundant citrate (a carbon source not normally utilised by E. coli). Every 500 generations, Lenski would take samples of the bacteria, which -- as Dawkins puts it -- in essence produced a ‘fossil record’ of the different tribes. Lenski observed many changes in the E. coli as they adapt to the culture conditions in his lab. While the fitness of bacteria had increased, it had come at a cost. For instance, all the tribes had lost the ability to catabolise ribose. Some tribes had lost the ability to repair DNA. These bacteria may indeed be more fit in a lab setting, but when placed back into their environment alongside their wild-type counterparts, they would be at a selective disadvantage.

Dawkins goes on to explain that at generation 31,500, one line of E. coli was found to be able to utilise citrate. Previous research in The Journal of Bacteriology has shown that wild-type E. coli can utilise citrate when oxygen levels are low. Under these conditions, citrate is taken into the cell and used in a fermentation pathway. The gene in E. coli is believed to encode a citrate transporter (a protein which transports citrate into the cell). In the presence of high levels of oxygen, it is believed that the citrate transporter does not function or is not produced, even while retaining the enzymes necessary for the utilisation of citrate. Thus, as it happens, wild-type E. coli already possesses the genes necessary for the transportation of citrate into the cell and subsequent utilisation of it.

So, what best explains the observations which Dawkins documents in The Greatest Show on Earth? As Lenski himself proposed in his 2008 paper in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (105, no. 23), entitled: “Historical Contingency and the Evolution of a Key Innovation in an Experimental Population of Escherichia coli,” “A more likely possibility, in our view, is that an existing transporter has been co-opted for citrate transport under oxic [high oxygen levels] conditions.” He believes that this could be the same citrate transporter that is used in low oxygen conditions or indeed a transporter for another substrate that has been modified in order to transport citrate. The former would infer a loss of regulation, while the latter would imply a loss of specificity.

Dawkins: The Greatest Show on Earth – Does Richard Dawkins have the goods?
Richard Dawkins continues in the same vain throughout his book. One favourable review of Dawkins’ new book, published in The Guardian, commented that while The Greatest Show on Earth “demonstrates once again [Dawkins’] consummate skill as an explainer,” the science covered by the book mostly rehashed “pretty standard stuff.” The book fails to address the growing problems of biological information, the origin of life, how natural selection coupled with chance mutations can account for the origin of irreducibly complex systems, which continue to defy the Darwinism he preaches. Darwin called The Origin of Species ‘one long argument’ for his theory, but Richard Dawkins has given us one long bluff. The Greatest Show on Earth seeks to defend neo-Darwinism by appealing to theological arguments, by attempting to explain away the challenge of the Cambrian explosion by means of invoking ad-hoc conjectures, by exaggerating the evidence for the potentiality of natural selection, by misrepresenting design arguments, casting down ‘straw-men’, and by avoiding mention of the most sinister threats to the neo-Darwinian model of origins.

The actual evidence shows that major features of the fossil record and cell biology are an embarrassment to Darwinian evolution. Judged by the normal criteria of empirical science, the data used to prop up neo-Darwinism is weak. We know today that there are multiple critical facts which strike hard blows at the conventional understanding of the theory. These are not merely trivial problems or anomalies that are likely to be solved, but fundamental matters that appear to be without prospect of solution.

Learn More!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?